The ICC World T20 2016 will start from 8 March, with India, the hosts, drawn in a difficult group. MS Dhoni's men will have been grouped with New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia and one qualfying team (most likely Bangladesh), making their path into the next round a difficult one. But, before the big matches, India will lock horns with West Indies and South Africa in warm-up games ahead of the main tournament. 

The first practice match will be played against the West Indies at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata on 10 March, while the second match against South Africa will be played at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 13 March. The main round of the World T20 will begin on 15 March, when India host New Zealand in Nagpur.

India are scheduled to play a number of T20 matches before the ICC World T20 2016. India are currently touring Australia, where they will a three-match T20 series, after the ongoing bilateral ODI series. 

Sri Lanka are also supposed to tour India for a three-match T20 series in February, but the dates or the tour itinerary are yet to be announced.

India then travel to Bangladesh to take part in the Asia Cup T20 2016. This tournament is usually a 50-over affair, but with the ICC World T20 2016 to follow, it has been turned into a T20 tournament, so that teams can gear themselves for the big event in March.