England and Pakistan have announced their 15-member squads to take part in the ICC World T20 2016, starting next month. Shahid Afridi remains the captain for Pakistan, while Eoin Morgan is still the skipper for England in the prestigious Twenty20 competition that will take place in India.

Opener Ahmed Shehzad and medium-fast bowler Umar Gul remain the notable absentees for Pakistan, while uncapped player Liam Dawson has been preferred by the selectors over Stuart Broad.

Nevertheless, the likes of Mohammad Hafiz, Shoaib Malik and Umar Akmal feature in the 15-member squad, announced by PCB (Pakistan Cricket Board) chief selector Haroon Rashid on Wednesday, while Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler and Steven Finn — who already have World T20 experience for England — were selected by the ECB (England Cricket Board).

"While picking the squad, the team management and skipper were consulted by the selectors, and all concerned gave their consent in this regard," the official website of PCB quoted Rashid as saying.

It was also announced that Pakistan's 15-member squad will be the same for Asia Cup 2016, starting later this month. "The team is a fine blend of experience and youth and the selectors believe that team will do well in both tournaments," Rashid said.

ECB's national selector James Whitaker said Liam Dawson was included in the squad after the all-rounder put up good displays for the team in the recent England series against Pakistan A. "Liam Dawson has been selected after consistently strong performances for the Lions recently against Pakistan A. As a left-arm spinning all-rounder he will be a very useful addition particularly in sub-continent conditions," Whitaker was quoted by the ECB site.

Pakistan squad for ICC World T20 2016: Shahid Afridi (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed (Vice-Captain/WK), Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Rumman Rais.

England squad for ICC World T20 2016: Eoin Morgan (Capt), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Liam Dawson, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey.