india women cricket
India women's cricket team have to come in top four of the qualifiers to make it to the ICC Women's World Cup 2017IANS

The International Cricket Council (ICC), on Monday, released the Women's World Cup 2017 Qualifiers schedule for the first few matches of the competition. The cricket tournament starts just ahead of the World Cup and takes place between February 7 and 21 in Colombo, Sri Lanka.

India women's cricket team are a part of group A, where they feature alongside Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe and Thailand. Group B consists of South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland and Papua New Guinea.

Only four out of these ten teams can progress to the ICC Women's World Cup 2017, scheduled for a June 26 start in England.

These top four teams from the Super Six stage will join defending champions Australia, hosts England, former winners New Zealand and reigning ICC World Twenty20 champions West Indies in the ICC Women's World Cup 2017.

ICC Women's World Cup 2017 qualifiers: Tournament format

Each side will play four matches in the first round.

The top three sides from each group will progress to the Super Six stage.

At the Super Six stage, each side will play three matches against teams from the other group.

The top two sides will battle out for the title in the ICC Women's World Cup 2017 qualifiers final on February 21.


Group A: India, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe, Thailand.

Group B: South Africa, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea.

Schedule: Group fixtures

February 7: Sri Lanka v India @ P. Sara Stadium

Ireland v Zimbabwe @ MCA

South Africa v Pakistan @ NCC

Zimbabwe v Scotland @ CCC

February 8: Pakistan v Bangladesh @ P. Sara Stadium

Scotland v South Africa @ MCA

Sri Lanka v Ireland @ NCC

India v Thailand @ CCC

February 10: India v Ireland @ P. Sara Stadium

Thailand v Zimbabwe @ MCA

February 11: South Africa v Bangladesh @ P. Sara Stadium

Scotland v Papua @ MCA

Sri Lanka v Zimbabwe @ NCC

Ireland v Thailand @ CCC

February 13: Zimbabwe v India @ P. Sara Stadium

Sri Lanka v Thailand @ MCA

South Africa v Papua @ NCC

Pakistan v Scotland @ CCC

Already qualified teams for ICC Women's World Cup 2017

Australia, England, New Zealand, West Indies