A year of scoring runs, runs and more runs has led to Steve Smith being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year.

Smith enjoyed a successful 2015, starring for his team with the bat in Australia's ICC Cricket World Cup triumph at home, while also showing his captaincy skills after taking over from Michael Clarke.

The right-hander has quickly become one of the best batsmen in the world, scoring runs at will, and deservedly takes the honours, following a voting process which took place from 18 September 2014 to 13 September 2015.

"Given that there are so many great players around the world, I'm incredibly honoured to receive these awards," Smith, who was also named the ICC Test Cricket of the Year, told the ICC's official website.

"While team success is always my number one motivation, awards like this are very special. I'm thrilled and very proud to receive them.

"I will look back on 2015 with mixed feelings. Winning the ICC Cricket World Cup at home was a career highlight, and being appointed captain is a great honour, but the disappointment of losing the Ashes remains.

"To be the best team that we can be, we have to become better at winning away from home, and that remains our motivation heading into 2016.

"I'd like to thank my teammates and my family for their support over the year. I'd also like to thank the voting panel for this recognition, which is very humbling."

The ICC ODI Cricket of the Year went to the best batsman in the world at the moment – AB De Villiers. De Villiers just seems to thrive in white ball cricket, and there really is no better or popular batsman in world cricket at the moment.

"It is an honour to be named as the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year for 2015," De Villiers said. "It's certainly been a memorable year with many highlights but a lot of disappointments as well.

"If I was to look back, the century I scored against the West Indies at the Wanderers will probably go down as the most memorable knocks of the year. In saying that, centuries count for nothing if the team isn't winning, so hopefully in the future I can contribute to many more Proteas wins."

List of ICC Award winners: ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy): Steve Smith (Australia).

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year: Steve Smith (Australia).

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers (South Africa).

ICC T20I Performance of the Year: Faf du Plessis (South Africa) for his 119 in 56 balls against West Indies.

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Josh Hazlewood (Australia).

ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: Khurram Khan (UAE).

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: Meg Lanning (Australia).

ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year: Stafanie Taylor (West Indies).

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: Brendon McCullum (New Zealand).

ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy): Richard Kettleborough.