Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul have been sent show cause notices by the BCCI for their comments on women in the January 6 episode of Koffee With Karan.

"We have sent show cause notices to Hardik Pandya and K L Rahul for their comments. They have given 24 hours to give an explanation," Committee of Administrator chief Vinod Rai told PTI.

Karan Johar's famous talk-show, Koffee With Karan achieved a landmark feat last Sunday when the filmmaker hosted cricketers Pandya and Rahul. This was the first time in its 14-year history that sportsmen got to sit on the couch that is famous for publicising "conjectures" and creating controversy.

Hardik Pandya KL Rahul
Pandya and Rahul in England.Gareth Copley/Getty Images

But the episode got marred by controversy as both the cricketers made derogatory comments on women while describing their life off the cricket field. The cricketers were unanimously pulled up for their "sexist" and "misogynistic" remarks.

Pandya was especially boastful of his encounters with women and narrated an incident from a party he visited with his parents.

"There was a party where my parents are sitting and asked me 'acha tera wala kaun sa hai' [who woman present here have you been with?] so I said 'yeh, yeh, yeh (pointing out multiple women), mai sabke saath kuchh na kuchh raha hai mera' [I have been involved with all these women] and they were like 'Waah! proud of you beta' [Wow! proud of you son]," Pandya boasted.

Responding to the criticism, Pandya had issued an apology on his Twitter, saying that he "got a bit carried away."

Rahul also made some shocking revelations on the show. These revelations came during the "Who has" segment where the guests on the show point towards the person who has done the particular thing being asked in the question.

One of the questions was whether either cricketer had "done it" in a teammate's room and both said yes. But Rahul took the cake when he admitted that he had "gone above and beyond to connect with a fan after a match."

Both the cricketers are currently in Australia as a part of India's ODI squad that will take on the home side in a three-match series beginning of January 12.