The Mahagathbandhan may device a formula of "one minister for every five MLAs" of the coalition parties, said reports.

The Grand Alliance (Mahagathbandhan) won the Bihar Assembly elections with 178 seats, defeating the BJP-led NDA, who managed just 58 seats.

Janata Dal-United (JD-U) leader Nitish Kumar, who is set for a hat-trick as Bihar chief minister, will take oath after the Chhath festival on 20 November. The swearing-in ceremony will be attended by West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

The slots for the 36-member cabinet is likely to be divided among the three coalition partners with a formula of one minister for every five MLAs, said reports.

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) emerged the single-largest party with 80 Assembly seats, followed by the JD-U (71) and the Congress (27).

As per the formula, Lalu Prasad Yadav's RJD will get 16 ministers, while the JD-U will get 15 including the chief minister's post and the Congress will get five.

The RJD supremo may ask for a berth for one of his sons in the council of ministers. His sons Tej Pratap Yadav and Tejashwi Yadav won from the Raghopur and Mahua constituencies, respectively.