West Indies
West Indies are the current World T20 champions.Reuters

West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) selectors have announced the T20 squad for the series against India, which will be held in Florida in the US after the completion of the ongoing Test battle. Darren Sammy, who helped West Indies to lift the World T20 title for the second time, was sacked and not included in the 13-man squad as well. 

The selectors said that Sammy was dropped from the squad because of his performances for the national side in recent times. 

In fact, in the world T20 2016, Sammy faced a total of 13 deliveries, scoring just eight runs, and bowled three overs to pick up one wicket.

However, his performance in the recently concluded Caribbean Premier League (CPL) edition, was more than good. He was equally good with bat and the ball. Unfortunately, the selectors have opted to overlook that and omitted him from the 13-man squad.

"With regards to Sammy's omission from the squad, the Chairman [of selectors Courtney Browne] noted that the named-squad was selected purely on players' performances," WICB was quoted as saying by Cricinfo.

Meanwhile, Carlos Brathwaite has been named as the captain of the West Indies T20 squad. He shot to fame after hitting four sixes in a row in the World T20 final against England in India earlier this year. 

Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard have also been recalled in the T20 squad. Both these players had pulled out of the World T20 2016. 

Denesh Ramdin, Sulieman Benn, Ashley Nurse and Jerome Taylor have been left out as well along with Sammy. 

West Indies, however, have named a formidable squad for the two-match T20 series against India, which will be held on Aug. 27 and 28. 

West Indies T20 squad against India: Andre Fletcher, Andre Russell, Carlos Brathwaite (C), Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, Evin Lewis, Jason Holder, Johnson Charles, Kieron Pollard, Lendl Simmons, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree, Sunil Narine.