Moeen Ali England Scotland World Cup
Moeen Ali will feature for England in both the ODI and T20 squad.Reuters

After an entertaining five match Test series, England and Australia will once again be at loggerheads with each other in a one-off T20 match and 5 ODI matches, which starts on 31 August.

England have announced their squads for both the formats and one of the biggest names missing is Joe Root, who has been rested.

The England T20 and the ODI team resembles a different unit altogether when compared to the Ashes team with players such as Alistair Cook, Ian Bell, James Anderson and Stuart Broad not in the picture.

However, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Ben Stokes and Mark Wood are some of the players from the winning Ashes side who will be seen in action during the one-off T20 match and ODI series.

England have picked a relatively young side to face Australia, who might have been disappointed with the results in the Test series and hence will be eager to deliver in the shorter formats.

ECB national selector, James Whitaker, believes that the team's strengths will be put to test in the matches against Australia.

"We have made some significant progress in our limited-overs cricket this summer and the next six games allow these players to continue testing themselves against one of the very best sides in the world," ESPN Cricinfo quoted James Whitaker as saying.

"This is primarily a young group of players and the next three weeks will provide them with valuable experience as we continue to identify players who can take our limited overs cricket forward over the next four years."

It is understandable that the selectors might have given rest to some key players as England have a tough schedule in the run-up to the T20 World Cup in India. England face Pakistan and South Africa away from home before they travel to India for the T20 World Cup.

England T20 squad

Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes

England ODI squad

Eoin Morgan (capt), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood