Bharatiya Janata Party eclipsed Congress in Gujarat leading in all 26 seats in the state, according to Press Trust of India.

BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is leading in Vadodara with 845, 464 votes, registering a victory over Congress candidate Madhusudan Mistry. Senior BJP leader L K Advani is leading in Gandhinagar with 538, 643 votes. 

BJP's win is confirmed in constituencies including Surendra Nagar, Anand, Surat, Vadodara, Kheda, Amreli, Mehsana, Gandhinagar, Rajkot, Porbandar and Junagadh.

Congratulating BJP and Modi, filmmaker Madhur Bhandarkar tweeted: "The Wave has hit the shore! A young, sensible & vibrant India gives its verdict! Heartiest congratulations to @narendramodi & his team."

Meanwhile, Anandiben Patel is likely to step into Modi's shoes as she could be announced the next chief minister of Gujarat.

The 72-year-old BJP leader is one of the most powerful ministers in Gujarat and holds top four portfolios including revenue and urban development and roads and buildings.

"The CM had discussed it with RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat and the BJP leadership. It is almost final that she will be the next CM and is likely to be sworn in before May 20," a source told Hindustan Times.

A formal announcement would be made after the results are declared.

Here is an inorganic of partywise vote share: 

Infographic on partywise vote share in Gujarat
Infographic on partywise vote share in GujaratElection Commission of India