Electronic Voting Machine
[Representational Image]YouTube screengrab

Over one lakh students of the Delhi University are going to vote in the university's Student Union elections on Wednesday. The voting began at 8 am in the morning colleges while in the evening colleges, the voting will start at 3 pm. The election committee has installed 700 electronic voting machines (EVMs) at 52 centres. 

The list of candidates for the post of President and Vice President of the student union includes ABVP's Ankiv Baisoya for President and Shakti Singh for Vice President. For NSUI, Sunny Chillar is the presidential candidate while Leena is the vice-presidential candidate. 

The AISA-CYSS alliance has chosen Abhigyan and Anshika as their presidential and vice-presidential candidates respectively. 

Live Updates

2018-09-1216:42 (IST)

Ramjas College registers 50.5 % voter turnout

A voter turnout of 50.5 % was recorded in Ramjas College while Zakir Hussain college recorded a turnout of 48 %. In Rajdhani College, a turnout of 51.92 % was recorded while Venkateswara College registered a turnout of 50 %. 

2018-09-1216:06 (IST)

Raj Babbar asks students to support NSUI

Actor turned politician Raj Babbar of the Congress party took to his twitter handle and asked students to support NSUI, the student wing of the Congress. 

2018-09-1215:19 (IST)

Results tomorrow

The counting of votes will begin at 8 am on Thursday and the results will also be declared on the same day. 

2018-09-1215:17 (IST)

Evening session polling begins

The polling for the evening classes has started and it will continue till 7:30 pm. 

2018-09-1214:43 (IST)

Polling for evening colleges to begin shortly

The polling for the evening colleges is scheduled to take place between 3 pm and 7:30 pm. 

2018-09-1214:03 (IST)

Polling centres closed, 50% turnout registered

The gates at the polling centres of the morning colleges have been closed. However, those who had lined-up for casting their votes can still vote. As of now, an average 50 % voter turnout has been registered in the colleges of Delhi University. 

2018-09-1213:30 (IST)

ABVP members distribute chocolates with ABVP wrappers

According to some twitter users, the ABVP tried to woe the voters till the last moment by distributing chocolates at the polling centres with ABVP pamphlets wrapped around them. 

2018-09-1213:14 (IST)

34% turnout recorded till 11.30 am

According to reports, a voter turnout of 34 % was recorded till 11.30 am. The election committee will declare the final turnout by evening. 

2018-09-1213:09 (IST)

Polling in evening colleges to begin at 3 pm

The voting in the evening colleges will be held between 3 pm and 7:30 pm. Motilal Nehru College, Dyal Singh Evening College, Sri Aurobindo Evening College and Shahid Bhagat SIngh Evening College are some of the prominent evening colleges of the Delhi University. 

2018-09-1213:05 (IST)

ABVP promises special assistance to sports personnel

2018-09-1213:01 (IST)

NSUI manifesto

The student wing of Congress NSUI, has in its election manifesto, promised that if chosen to power, it will fight for reducing the price of student meal thali to Rs 10. It has also promised that it will fight for fee reduction in all colleges and for getting concessional student pass in Delhi Metro and DTC buses for all students. The NSUI will also work towards implementing the UGC guidelines on ICC to prevent sexual harassment of women and would fight to get pending SC/ST scholarships passed. 

2018-09-1212:47 (IST)

Voting enters final hour

The voting for morning colleges has entered its last leg as the voting is scheduled to close at 1:30 pm. 

2018-09-1212:45 (IST)

List of candidates for post of Joint Secretary

The following students are contesting for the post of Joint Secretary:

Saurabh Yadav from NSUI

Jyoti Chaudhary from ABVP

Sreeith K from SFI 

Sunny Tanwar from CYSS-AISA

2018-09-1212:43 (IST)

List of candidates for post of Secretary

The following students are contesting for the post of Secretary:

Sudhir Dedha from ABVP

Aakash Choudhary from NSUI

Chandra Mani Dev from CYSS-AISA

Subhash Bhatt from SFI

2018-09-1212:42 (IST)

List of candidates for post of Vice President

The following students are contesting for the post of Vice President: 

Shakti Singh from ABVP

Leena from NSUI

Anshika Singh from AISA-CYSS

Deepak from INSO

Neelanjita Biswas from SFI

2018-09-1212:38 (IST)

List of Candidates for post of President

The following students are contesting the elections for the post of President: 

Ankiv Basoya from ABVP

Sunny Chillar from NSUI

Abhigyan from CYSS-AISA

Akashdeep Tripathi from SFI

Preeti Chauhan from INSO 

2018-09-1212:36 (IST)

Police issues advisory

The Delhi Police has reportedly issued an advisory and warned members of political groups that strict action will be taken against students who were trying to influence voters outside polling centres in an unlawful manner. 

2018-09-1212:33 (IST)

NSUI, ABVP members detained

The Delhi police detained a few members of political student groups for campaigning outside polling booths after members of NSUI and ABVP were founf distributing pamphlets to voters. 

2018-09-1212:30 (IST)

Low voter turn out reported

The voter turn out in the Delhi University Student Union Election is reported to be low as compared to last year. The election committe has said that the final turnout will be announced by evening.