Arvind Kejriwal
AAP supporters outside their party office in New Delhi on 10 February, 2015.Reuters

An FIR has been registered against two Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs and their supporters, six of whom have been arrested, for clashing with the police at Burari Police Station in North Delhi on Friday. The violence had left around 15 people injured.

The two AAP MLAs, Sanjeev Jha from Burari and Akhilesh Pati Tripathi from Model Town, had arrived at the Burari Police Station along with their supporters at 11 pm to file a complaint against a kidnapper, who they had caught red-handed while abducting a boy from Pradhan Enclave colony.

The violence began when police restricted Jha's vehicle, carrying him and his supporters, from entering the premises of the police station. "The AAP MLA's vehicle was unidentified, it did not have any sticker on it; so it was stopped. There were some anti-social elements who started stone pelting over the issue. We have registered an FIR in which the two MLAs have been named along with others," DCP (North) Madhur Verma was quoted as saying.

During the clash, AAP supporters pelted stones at the police personnel. The police retaliated by resorting to lathicharge. Many vehicles were also damaged in the clash. Jha, six AAP members, and nine policemen were injured in the attack. They were taken to a nearby hospital later.

A case of rioting, unlawful assembly, obstructing public servant from carrying out his duty, assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of his duty, voluntarily causing hurt, criminal intimidation and mischief was registered against all the AAP supporters, including the two MLAs.