Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle played a blistering knock in the CPL 2016 final.IANS

Jamaica Tallawahs have claimed their second Caribbean Premier League (CPL) title in four years after they blew away Guyana Amazon Warriors in the final of the tournament at the Warner Park Stadium in Basseterre, St Kitts on Sunday. Chris Gayle-led Tallawahs turned on their style right from the start of the game.

Looking at the wicket, Gayle was quick to decide that he wanted to bowl first against the Warriors.

The Warriors' innings started off poorly as they lost two early wickets in the form of Nic Maddinson and Chris Lynn. The latter, who was the best batsman for Warriors throughout the tournament, could not make an impact in the final. Jason Mohammad too fell for a golden duck.

Sohail Tanvir (42, 37b, 4x6) was the only batsman who showed some resistance but still could not help his side go past the 100-run mark.  

Click here for all the highlights of the final.

Imad Wasim (4-0-21-3) was the pick of the bowlers for Jamaica Tallawahs, and was adjudged the man of the match. Shakib Al Hasan (4-0-25-2) too was outstanding with his line and length. Kesrick Williams, Andre Russell and Oshane Thomas too picked up wickets. 

Warriors were bundled for a meagre total of 93 runs in just 16.1 overs. 

Gayle and Chadwick Walton got off to a flier. Gayle (54, 27b, 3x4, 4x6) went hammer and tongs right from the start of the run chase. He reached his half-century in no time.

Kumar Sangakkara and Walton finished things off in the 13th over itself and handed their side a nine-wicket win over the Guyana Amazon Warriors.  

Andre Russell was adjudged the player of the series for his all-round performance throughout the tournament for Jamaica Tallawahs.