Chinese New Year
Chinese New YearReuters

Chinese communities across the world are all set to ring in their New Year -- Year of the Monkey -- in four days. The Chinese New Year, also called as the Lunar New Year or the Spring Festival, will start from 8 February.

The celebrations begin a day before New Year and continue until the 15th day, which is called as Lantern Festival.

The Chinese Year is divided into 12 houses (zodiac signs) and the Year of the Monkey is the ninth animal in the zodiac cycle, according to China Highlights. The Year of the Monkey is also called as Red Fire Monkey Year.

About the people born in the Year of the Monkey

People who are born in this year are called as "Monkeys" in China, but according to astronomy, these people are smart, flexible, and healthy. Like the Year of the Snake, Year of the Monkey is also believed to be one of the most unlucky years, according to The Telegraph.

The strengths of people born in this zodiac cycle are that they are sociable, innovative, enthusiastic and self-assured while the weaknesses are suspicious, cunning, selfish, arrogant, jealous.

Famous people who are born in this Chinese zodiac signs, include Julius Caesar, Leonardo da Vinci, Charles Dickens, Celine Dion, Tom Hanks, Will Smith, Halle Berry, Christina Aguilera, Diana Ross, Elizabeth Taylor, Alice Walker, Michael Douglas, Owen Wilson, Daniel Craig, Mick Jagger, Bette Davis, Annie Oakley, Eleanor Roosevelt, Gisele Bundchen, Kim Cattrall, Nick Carter, Patricia Arquette, Alyson Stoner, Demi Lovato, Miley Cyrus, Nick Jonas and Selena Gomez.

Here is how to find out which Chinese sign are you

Rat: 2008, 1996, 1984, 1972, 1960

Ox: 2009, 1997, 1985, 1973, 1961

Tiger: 2010, 1998, 1986, 1974, 1962

Rabbit: 2011, 1999, 1987, 1975, 1963

Dragon: 2012, 2000, 1988, 1976, 1964

Snake: 2013, 2001, 1989, 1977, 1965

Horse: 2014, 2002, 1990, 1978, 1966

Sheep: 2015, 2003, 1991, 1979, 1967

Monkey: 2016, 2004, 1992, 1980, 1968

Rooster: 2017, 2005, 1993, 1981, 1969

Dog: 2018, 2006, 1994, 1982, 1970

Pig: 2019, 2007, 1995, 1983, 1971