Telugu Warriors has won its first Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) cup. The final match of the fifth season of CCl was played between the Tollywood team and Chennai Rhinos, on Sunday.

The team led by Akhil Akkineni has finally won the tournament for the first time. This year, the Telugu Warriors put up some brilliant show and easily defeated the Chennai team.

The audience at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad had expected the match to be a tight finish as both the teams had done well to reach the last stage. In the end, it turned out to be a one-sided game with Telugu Warriors coming out with match-winning all-round performances.

Having won the toss, Telugu Warriors put Chennai Rhinos to bat first. The Tollywood team bowled well to restrict the Kollywood team to 132 runs. This target was easily chased by Akhil Akkineni's team in just 18.1 overs. Sudhir Babu was declared the Man of the Match.

  • Telugu Warriors Lift CCL 5
    Telugu Warriors is seen lifting the CCL 5 trophy.CCl Website
  • Telugu Warriors vs. Chennai Rhinos Toss
    A picture from the toss.CCl Website
  • Celebs at Telugu Warriors Dugout
    Srikanth, Nagarjuna, Venkatesh, Sohail Khan and Bobby Deol at Telugu Warriors dugout.CCl Website
  • Nagarjuna with Venkatesh
    A picture of Nagarjuna and Venkatesh from CCL 5 final.CCl Website
  • Sohail Khan and Bobby Deol at CCL 5 Final
    A picture of Sohail Khan and Bobby Deol sitting at Telugu Warriors dugout.CCl Website
  • Sonia Agarwal
    Actress Sonia Agarwal at the CCL 5 final.CCl Website
  • Cheerful Venkatesh at CCL 5 Final
    Cheerful Venkatesh after his team Telugu Warriors won the match.null
  • Sonia Agarwal with Raai Lakshmi
    Sonia Agarwal with Raai Laxmi at CCL 5 final.CCl Website
  • Actresses At CCL 5 Final
    Actresses posing for the camera at CCL 5 final.CCl Website
  • Telugu Warriors Celebrate Victory
    Telugu Warriors celebrate the victory.CCl Website

Telugu Warriors had played some good cricket throughout the tournament. In the five matches that they played (including three leagues, semi-final and final), they convincingly won all the matches.

Their performance was criticised by audience in the previous seasons. But this time, they have been appreciated a lot. Fans took to Twitter to congratulate the team. Below, we bring you a few comments posted by Telugu Warriors supporters:

Preethamreddyvadiyal Wrote
#CCL2015 winner #TeluguWarriors congrats won the cup after 5 years.

Pavan Kannegandla Posted
Great Performance by #TeluguWarriors. Superb Win Congratulations

Babu Naidu Tweeted
Congrats to #CCL5 New Champions #TeluguWarriors Good team effort and captaincy by @AkhilAkkineni8

Sangithakrish Wrote
Congratulations #TeluguWarriors for d cup .. Good job .. Long pending mission , finally accomplished

Vyshnavi Reddy Posted
#TeluguWarriors WON d match after 5yrs successfully 5wins in a row d nly team vch remained unbeaten.. @sachiinjoshi

Narendra Gogineni Wrote
Superb bating @isudheerbabu @AkhilAkkineni8 you gues great show!!! Finally #TeluguWarriors won the cup congrats all the team members!❕❕