The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the venues that will host the men and women ICC World Twenty20 2016 on Tuesday in Mumbai. 

The tournament will begin from 11 March and the final will played on 3 April, 2016. 

The iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata will host the big final of the tournament. With a capacity of over 65,000, it is one of the best cricket stadiums in the world. 

Kolkata, Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamshala, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi will be hosting the matches during the tournament.

BCCI has also included Chennai as one of the venues despite the uncertainity revolving around I, J and K stands that have not been used in any matches for the last three years. Initially, BCCI was considering five venues but now they have decided to spread the tournament across eight venues.

A BCCI media release read, "These venues will host the matches subject to fulfilling the prescribed requirements of the ICC and BCCI while adhering to the statutory obligations that are mandatory for hosting an International match."

BCCI has also constituted a Managing Committee for the ICC World T20, 2016 which will be chaired by Board president Jagmohan Dalmiya. 

The committee consists of Anurag Thakur (convenor and Hon. Secretary, BCCI), Amitabh Choudhary (Hon. Joint Secretary, BCCI), Anirudh Chaudhry (Hon. Treasurer, BCCI), G. Ganga Raju (Vice President, BCCI), Rajeev Shukla (Chairman, IPL), Ashish Shelar (Vice President, Mumbai Cricket Association) and Ashirbad Behera (Hon. Secretary, Orissa Cricket Association).

"BCCI is extremely proud to host this prestigious event. All the venues identified have hosted many prestigious matches. With this announcement, we have begun our preparations in right earnest. We want this World Twenty20 to be a memorable experience for our participants and fans. I am confident that all the venues nominated will deliver a world class event," Anurag Thakur told reporters at a press conference in Mumbai.