The BCCI SGM is one of the most important in recent times.Reuters

Former India cricket team wicketkeeper MSK Prasad was elected as the new BCCI chairman of selectors at the cricket board's Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in Mumbai on Wednesday. Also, Ajay Shirke was re-elected, unopposed, as the BCCI secretary.

Venkatesh Prasad, who was also linked with the main role, will continue as the chairman of the India cricket team junior selection committee.

MSK Prasad will head the South Zone, while Devang Gandhi, Jatin Paranjpe, Sarandeep Singh and Gagan Khoda, will lead the East Zone, the West Zone, the North Zone and the Central Zone respectively. Mannava Prasad, better known as MSK, succeeds Sandeep Patil in the top BCCI role. The 41-year-old played six Test matches and 17 ODIs in his career between 1998 to 2000.

"The 87th AGM of the BCCI is being held today 21st September 2016 and the proceedings are being conducted for the compliance of statutory provisions under which the BCCI is constituted and also for ensuring that the day to day operations of the BCCI are not hampered particularly in view of the ongoing major national and international tournaments, commitments and is subject to the orders of the Hon'ble Supreme Court," the cricket board mentioned in a statement on their website.

Meanwhile, it was announced that BCCI President Anurag Thakur would represent the cricket board in the International Cricket Council (ICC) and the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) meetings. Also, the audited statement of accounts for the year ending 31st March 2016 and the budget for the year 2016-17 were approved by the BCCI.