Bangladesh will begin their preparation for the ICC World T20 2016 when they will engage in a four-match T20 series against Zimbabwe from 15 January. All of these four T20 international matches will be played at the Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna. 

But before the ICC World T20 2016, Bangladesh will battle it out for the Asia Cup T20 as well. This series will be the perfect one to figure out the correct combination for the two big tournaments that lies in the horizon. 

Zimbabwe recently lost a T20 and an ODI series against Afghanistan in the United Arab Emirates (UAE). The visitors will look to bounce back from that humiliating defeat. Surprisingly, this is their fourth successive limited over series defeat. Last year, when they played the Bangla Tigers, they lost both the T20 and the ODI series. 

The hosts will look to assert their dominance and by no means they will want to lose against the hapless Zimbabweans. 

"We are looking to win because we are playing international cricket but still we want to get our best combination. At the same time give the players comfort in their roles, to understand their roles. So that's the main focus. In terms of combinations, we will try to do different ones. We still want to win but we will experiment in terms of combinations," Hathurusingha told reporters ahead of the 1st T20 against Zimbabwe.

Zimbabwe will also look to get their combinations right ahead of the ICC World T20 2016, which will be held in India. The conditions in Bangladesh will be similar to India as well. They might as well get used to it. 

"We have come here to win. We are also mindful that we have another 10 games before the World T20," Zimbabwe gaffer Dav Whatmore told mediapersons. "There will be a portion of looking at different combinations."

"They [Sibanda, Vitori and Williams] will get a chance. Sean is certainly in our best team. The other two boys have got a chance to impress. They will be given their opportunity. No one has come in here just to carry the drinks. So they will all play."

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe complete squads:

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Arafat Sunny, Nurul Hasan, Shuvagata Hom, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain.

Zimbabwe: Elton Chigumbura (C), Malcolm Waller, Peter Moor, Sikandar Raza, Graeme Cremer, Hamilton Masakadza, Wellington Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, Sean Williams, Chamu Chibhabha, Neville Madziva, Luke Jongwe, Taurai Muzarabani, Tendai Chisoro, Vusi Sibanda, Brian Vitori.

Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe T20 series schedule

1st T20 – Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe

Venue – Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium

Date - 15 January

Time: 3pm local time (2:30 pm IST, 9am GMT)

2nd T20 – Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe

Venue – Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium

Date - 17 January

Time: 3pm local time (2:30 pm IST, 9am GMT)

3rd T20 – Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe

Venue – Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium

Date - 20 January

Time: 3pm local time (2:30 pm IST, 9am GMT)

4th T20 – Bangladesh vs Zimbabwe

Venue – Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium

Date - 22 January

Time: 3pm local time (2:30 pm IST, 9am GMT)

TV listings: Gazi Tv (Bangladesh), Ten Network (Zimbabwe), Sky Sports (UK) and Willow TV (USA).