Bangladesh would look to carry on with their winning momentum against the Proteas.Reuters

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced on Wednesday their squad for the two Twenty20 (T20) matches against South Africa.

Sohag Gazi, who was banned from bowling in October 2014 during Bangladesh's tour of West Indies, returns to the 14-member squad after being cleared by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to bowl.

Gazi was suspended on 8 October last year and as part of the correctional work, was allowed to play domestic ODI competitions.

Gazi's name was struck off the central contract after his first Test at Cardiff. After a few days, he visited Chennai to test his reworked action and earlier this year, was cleared by the ICC to bowl.

"I have learned a lot from the outside in these months. I am bowling in the national team's nets after a long time. It was a tough situation. I started quite well as an international player but it suddenly got stopped. I am back now. My family encouraged me, unlike many others. Whoever supports you in tough times is your genuine friend.

"I am thankful to my family for helping me. The Bangladesh team is in such a shape that you have to work very hard to get a place," Gazi said in an interview to Espn Cricinfo after being named in the T20 squad of Bangladesh.

Gazi replaces injured batsman Mahmudulluah who is yet to recover from a finger injury. Mahmudullah could not be a part of the India series as well because of his injury.

Young leg-spinner Jubair Hossain will be debuting in the T20 series, replacing Taskin Ahmed who suffered from a rib injury during training session last week. Ahmed is out for at least three weeks.

Mustafizur Rahman, who was the star of the recently concluded ODI series against India, is part of the 14-man squad.

"We are looking for an option after Mahmudullah's injury and he [Gazi] fulfils our requirement," BCB chief selector Faruque Ahmed told AFP.

Here is the Bangladesh squad for the two T20 matches against South Africa:

Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Tamim lqbal, Litton Das (wk), Rony Talukdar, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Jubair Hossain, Sohag Gazi, Rubel Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman.