Bangladesh will face India in the first match of the Asia Cup T20 2016 on February 24Reuters

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) announced a 15-member squad for the Asia Cup T20 2016, which will start from February 24.

Left-handed opening batsman Tamim Iqbal will miss the Asia Cup T20 2016, after the left-hander decided to opt out of the tournament because his wife is expected to give birth.

Imrul Kayes has been named as Iqbal's replacement for the Asia Cup T20 2016. 

"We recalled Imrul because he is the best available option for us in the absence of Tamim," Habibul Bashar was quoted as saying by cricbuzz on Sunday. 

Bangladesh are hosting this tournament for the fifth time, since its inception. This upcoming edition of the Asia Cup has been turned into a T20, because of the ICC World T20 2016, which will be held in India from March 8. 

Being the hosts of the tournament, Bangladesh will fancy their chances against the three powerhouses of world cricket -- India, Pakistan and Sri Lank -- in this tournament. If they manage to outclass the big three, it will give them a major boost ahead of the ICC World T20 2016. 

Afghanistan, UAE, Hong Kong and Oman will play the qualifying round from February 19-22 at the Fatullah Stadium. The winner of this qualifying round will enter the main stage of the tournament where they will face India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. 

All the matches of the Asia Cup T20 2016 wil be played at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka. The final of the tournament will be played on March 6, which is just two days before the start of the ICC World T20 2016.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mohammad Mithun, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Arafat Sunny, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Hider.