Cricket Australia announced 12-man squad for the Test series against West Indies on Tuesday. Nathan Coulter-Nile has been named as the replacement for injured Mitchell Starc for the forthcoming series which will be starting from 10 December.

Shaun Marsh has been retained in the squad after his heroics with the bat in the third and final Test match against New Zealand at the Adelaide Oval. He replaced Usman Khawaja as the latter suffered an hamstring injury during the second Test match.

The selectors also kept Scott Boland on standby. He will be added to the squad if the bowlers do not achieve match-fitness.

"Hopefully all the bowlers from the Adelaide Test recover well over the next few days but we are mindful our fast bowlers have had a heavy workload over this series," chairman of selectors of Cricket Australia told the reporters after announcing the squad on Tuesday. 

"In an ideal world we would have liked Nathan Coulter-Nile to have played some more Sheffield Shield cricket. But he has been a proven performer for Australia in short-format cricket and has very good pace. We think he is ready to compete at Test level if required."  

Pat Cummins who was named as a replacement for Mitchell Johnson have suffered a back injury and his place has been taken by James Pattinson. 

In this Test series Australia and West Indies will play three Test matches. West Indies will begin with a tour game against Cricket Australia XI at the Allan Border Field in Brisbane from 2 December.

The first Test will be played at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart from 10 December followed by the second Test, which will begin on the Boxing Day at the Melbourne Cricket Ground and finally the third Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground, which will start from 3 January, 2016.  

Australia squad: David Warner, Joe Burns, Steve Smith (c), Adam Voges, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill (wk), Peter Siddle, Josh Hazlewood, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon, Nathan Coulter-Nile.