Steve Smith
Steve Smith will captain Australia against England and Ireland.Reuters

Australia have announced the team for the upcoming one off ODI match against Ireland as well as the five match ODI series against England. Australian batsman Steve Smith will lead the Aussie side as they prepare to face Ireland on 27 August. Australia play England in a one off T20 match on 31 August, followed by a five-match ODI series starting on 3 September.

After an embarrassing loss against England in the Ashes series, some new faces have been brought into the team, while some players such as Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Johnson have been rested.

Joe Burns, after an impressive showing in India for Australia A, has earned a slot in the team and is expected to open the innings alongside David Warner. Burns will be eager to take upon the key role in Aaron Finch's absence and the youngster can cement his place by playing good cricket during the series.

National Selection Panel chairman Rod Marsh hopes Burns will take advantage of the opportunity.

"Joe has impressed us immensely over in India with Australia A. He is a very capable young batsman who has experience opening, and we think he will grab his opportunity with the white ball during this series," ESPN Cricinfo quoted Marsh as saying.

Another performer for Australia A, Marcus Stoinis, has also grabbed the bowling all-rounder spot, but will face stiff competition to get into the starting eleven with Shane Watson and Mitchell Marsh in the team.

"Marcus has performed very well in India during the four-day series and we have always liked that option of the extra allrounder in our side, so with James Faulkner's unavailability, this is a great opportunity for Marcus," said Marsh.

On the batting front, Australia look very strong with Smith, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner and George Bailey adding plenty of experience to the line up. Matthew Wade will be keeping wickets for Australia.

Despite the absence of Hazlewood and Marsh in the bowling line up, Australia look decent with Patrick Cummins and James Pattinson leading the attack. After an impressive return from injury, Ashton Agar has also been included at the expense of Xavier Doherty in the spin department.

Overall the team looks good and will be eager to defeat England and Ireland.

"The squad we have selected has a few fresh faces in it as well as some experienced players that will provide us with the right balance,'' said Marsh.

Complete Squad

Steve Smith (c), Ashton Agar, George Bailey, Joe Burns, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Patrick Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Shane Watson, David Warner, Cameron Boyce (T20I only)