Cricket Australia have announced the squad for the third and final Test which will be held at the Adelaide Oval from 27 November.

The third and final Test match of the series is going to be a historic one as the first ever day and night Test match will be played and that too with the pink ball.

Australia are going through a transitional phase as five of their players announced retirement this year -- Michael Clarke, Shane Watson, Ryan Harris, Brad Haddin, Chris Rogers. Speedster Mitchell Johnson added to that list on Tuesday.

Skipper Steve Smith, however, has managed to handle the pressure after he took over the duty from Clarke. But for the third Test at the Adelaide he will be without the tearaway pace of Mitchell Johnson. And the national selectors have named James Pattinson as the replacement for Johnson.

"James has made a good return to Shield cricket following his injury and has earned this recall,"  chairman of selectors of Cricket Australia Rod Marsh said.

"He has worked incredibly hard and we are confident that he is ready to perform at Test level if selected."

Usman Khwaja has been in sublime form in this series but during the second Test he pulled a hamstring injury and was ruled out of the remainder of the series. As a result, Shaun Marsh was recalled into the Test squad.

"Shaun was unlucky to miss out on the squad for the first two Tests and since then has scored consistently in the Sheffield Shield," Marsh added, "so we believe he deserves this opportunity."

Off-spinner Steven O'Keefe has also been named in the 13 man squad for the third Test against New Zealand in Adelaide.  

"We have opted to include an extra spinner in the squad for Adelaide as we are unsure what conditions we will see there," Rod Marsh said.

"Stephen was included in our squad that was to go to Bangladesh and if he should get an opportunity we think he will make the most of it."

Adelaide Test squad: Steven Smith (C), David Warner, Joe Burns, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Peter Nevill (wk), Steve O'Keefe, James Pattinson, Mitchell Starc, Peter Siddle, Adam Voges