Mitchell Starc
Mitchell Starc fractured his ankle during the day-night Test against New Zealand in November 2015.Reuters

Australia have missed the services of Mitchell Starc in the past five months. The pace spearhead, though, has finally recovered from the ankle injury sustained last year and, as a result, he has been included in the 16-man squad for a triangular series in the West Indies. 

Starc fractured his foot during the historic day-night Test against New Zealand at the Adelaide Oval in November 2015. The left-arm seamer underwent  an operation, which forced him out of the ongoing ICC World T20 2016.

"Mitchell has progressed very well in his rehab and the medical staff are confident he will be fit to play in this series," chairman of selectors Rod Marsh was quoted as saying by the official website of Cricket Australia

"It is extremely pleasing to have a bowler of his calibre back in the side."

Following their exit from the Super 10 stage of the ICC World T20, Australia will be keen to get back to winning ways.

Apart from Starc, Travis Head, Matthew Wade and Nathan Lyon were also named in the squad which will play a triangular series with the West Indies and South Africa.

Eyebrows were raised when Peter Nevill, who is a regular face in the Test squad of Australia, was selected ahead of Wade for the ICC World T20. The selectors faced heavy criticism for that decision, but they have now gone back to Wade, who is a seasoned limited-overs cricketer. 

Ashton Agar too, made his way out of the squad, with Nathan Lyon getting the nod. 

"Nathan has bowled very well in the West Indies in the past and we are predicting we will see some slow turning pitches," Marsh said.

Meanwhile, Adam Zampa, the leg-spinner, has retained his place following his impressive show in the World T20. 

"Adam has impressed us in India during the World T20 and has bowled consistently well, and with confidence, when given his opportunity," Marsh added. 

The triangular series is scheduled to start from June 3.

Australia squad for the triangular series in West Indies: Steve Smith (C), David Warner, George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, John Hastings, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade(wk), Adam Zampa.