Bajirao Mastani
Bajirao MastaniTwitter

After grabbing trophies at Indian award shows, Ranveer Singh's "Bajirao Mastani" is eyeing Asian Film Awards. Sanjay Leela Bhansali's period drama "Bajirao Mastani" has bagged five nominations, while "Talvar", "Maasan", "Bombay Velvet" and "Baahubali – The Beginning" have bagged one nomination each.

The organisers of the 10th edition of the Asian Film Awards revealed the nominations on 3 February. Chinese film "The Assassin" received the highest nominations in nine different categories, followed by Bollywood film "Bajirao Mastani" with five nominations.

"Bajirao Mastani" has been nominated for Best Film, Best Editing, Best Original Music, Best Costume Design and Best Visual Effects categories. Music director Amit Trivedi has bagged a nomination for the Best Original Music category for "Bombay Velvet," while Vishal Bhardwaj for Best Screenplay for "Talvar."

India's blockbuster film of 2015 "Baahubali" has been nominated  in the Best Visual Effects category, while actor Vicky Kaushal has found a place in the Best New Comer actor category for his performance in "Maasan."

"The Asian Film Awards' annual ceremony recognizes many outstanding Asian filmmakers and we have also launched year-round initiatives to sustain the promotion of Asian movies. Our Academy has developed from the annual awards to an entity that now organizes audience and professional development programs such as masterclasses, film festival visits for students, young professionals training programs and film roadshows around the globe," Dr. Wilfred WONG Ying-wai, SBS, JP, Chairman of the AFA Academy, said in a statement.

This year, the academy received around 1,600 entries from 32 countries, but only few could make it in the final nomination list.

The winners of the Asian Films Awards 2016 will be revealed on 17 March in Macau's Venetian Theatre.

Check out the nominations in the major categories below and for complete list click here.

Best Film

The Assassin

Three Stories of Love


Bajirao Mastani

Mountains May Depart

Best Director

JIA Zhang-Ke for "Mountains May Depart"

HOU Hsiao-Hsien for "The Assassin"

KORE-EDA Hirokazu for "Our Little Sister"

GUAN Hu for "Mr. Six"

RYOO Seung-wan for "Veteran"

Best Actor

Donnie YEN for "Ip Man 3"

NAGASE Masatoshi for "An"

FENG Xiaogang for "Mr. Six"

LEE Byung-Hun for "Inside Man"

John ARCILLA for "Heneral Luna"

Best Actress

Kim Hye-soo for "Coin Locker Girl"

Shu Qi for "The Assassin"

Karena Lam for "Zinnia Flower"

Haruka Ayase for "Our Little Sister"

Zhao Tao for "Mountains May Depart"