India vs Pakistan
India will play Pakistan on 27 February.Reuters

The schedule for the Asia Cup T20 2016 has been announced. The fans can expect some high-voltage encounters as India will take on hosts Bangladesh in the opening game of the Asia Cup T20 2016 on 24 February.

India are also set to clash with arch-rivals Pakistan at least twice within a month's time. The fans will witness the first India vs Pakistan match of 2016 on 27 February. If both the team reaches the final of the tournament, then they will collide yet again.

India are also also set to face Pakistan in their second fixture of the ICC World T20 on 19 March later ths year.

All the matches in the Asia Cup T20 2016 will be played at the Sher-e-Bangla International Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka.   

This is for the first time that Asia Cup is being played in the T20 format. According to the new rotation policy, the Asia Cup that will be held in the year 2020 will also be played in the T20 format as both the tournament leads to ICC World T20. Asia Cup in 2018 and 2022 will be played in the usual 50-over format.

Asia Cup T20 2016 will feature Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and one more qualifying nation from United Arab Emirates, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Oman. These foor nation will play qualfier games to make it to the main stage of the tournament.  

The final of the exciting T20 tournament will be played at the same venue on 6 March just days before the start of the ICC World T20 2016. 

BCCI announced the schedule on Wednesday. 

Here is the complete schedule of Asia Cup T20 2016:

24th Feb: Bangladesh vs India

25th Feb: SL vs Q

26th Feb: Ban vs Q

27th Feb: India vs Pakistan

28th Feb: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka

29th Feb: Pakistan vs Q

1st March: India vs Sri Lanka

2nd March: Bangladesh vs Pakistan

3rd March: India vs Q

4th March: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka

5th March: Final