Voters waiting to cast vote during Aruvikara by-election.
Voters waiting to cast vote during Aruvikara by-election.Aashish/Twitter

Kerala witnessed one of the highly charged political contests on Saturday, 27 June, in Aruvikkara, Thiruvananthapuram district. Despite heavy rains in certain parts of the constituency, 77.35% polling was recorded in the by-election, which was conducted after the sudden demise of State Assembly speaker G Karthikeyan.

Two days after the by-election, supporters of the United Democratic Front (UDF), the Left Democratic Front (LDF) and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) are awaiting the poll results, which will be announced on Tuesday, 30 June.

While Karthikeyan's son KS Sabarinath represented UDF, M Vijayakumar contested for LDF and O Rajagopal for BJP, apart from 16 other independent candidates.

When will vote counting begin?

The counting will begin at 8 am on Tuesday. The latest reports suggest that first bits of information of the results will be out by 8:30am.

Where to Check Live Updates of Aruvikkara by-election?

Readers can stay tuned to IBTimes India to get the live updates of Aruvikkara by-election.


7:59 am: Media personnals asked to move to media centres.

7:55 am: First strong room opened.

7:45 am: Strong rooms with voting machines will be opened soon. Media personnals are allowed to take footages. District Collector Kaushikan also present.

6:25 am: Counting agents have reached the counting centre.

6:00 am: Heavy security measures have been arranged at Sri Swathithirunal College Of Music.

Online users can also check the results from official sites HERE and HERE.