• Aranmula Boat raceJay/Twitter
  • Aranmula Boat raceDD Sports

Aranmula Uthrittathi Water Festival, one of the oldest river boat race festivals in Kerala, takes place on the banks of the river Pampa in Pathanamthitta on Monday, 31 August.

Minister of State for Culture, Tourism and Civil Aviation Mahesh Sharma inaugurated the boat race at 1:30 pm on Monday.

Home Minister Ramesh Chennithala, Palliyoda Seva Sangham president K G Sasidharan Pillai, Water Resources Minister P J Joseph, Revenue Minister Adoor Prakash and Tourism Minister A P Anil Kumar also witnessed the event.

Nair Service Society (NSS) president P N Narendranathan Nair and registrar K N Viswanthan Pillai will distribute Mannam Trophies to the winners of the prestigious boat race.

Date, Venue of Upcoming Regattas in God's Own Country [Complete List]

Fifty-one palliyodams (snake boats), including 39 A Batch (bigger) snake boats and 12 B Batch (small) boats are participating in the race. While the bigger snake boats have the capacity to accommodate more than 100 oarsmen, the smaller ones have 80-85 oarsmen.

Thousands of people have gathered on the banks of Pampa to witness the boat race.

Live Updates:

Aranmula Boat Race Winner : Keezhvanmazhy

  • Second : Edanad
  • Third : Nellickal

6: 40 pm: A Batch Losers' Winner : Nedumprayar

6: 34 pm: A batch losers' final and final will happen soon.

6: 30 pm: B batch Final Winner: Kekozhur

6: 25 pm: B batch Losers' Final Winner: Idakulam

6: 20 pm: A Batch Final participants

  • Nellikal
  • Edanad
  • Othera
  • Keezhvanmazhy

6: 15 pm: A Batch Losers' Final Participants

  • Nedumprayar
  • Maramon
  • Poovathoor Padinjaru

6: 13 pm: B Batch Final Participants

  • Aratuppuzha
  • Kekozhur
  • Kodiyattukara

5: 35 pm:  B Batch Losers' Final participants:

  • Kottathur
  • Chennithalla
  • Idakulam

5: 20 pm: Final round of the boat race will begin soon.

5:15 pm : First batch competitions are over.

Where to Watch Boat Race Online

Doordarshan is telecasting the boat race live. Watch Aranmula Boat Race HERE and HERE