The 63rd Nehru Trophy boat race was won by Vembanad Boat Club's Jawahar Thayankari, which was helmed by Jameskutty Jacob, at Punnamada Lake on Saturday.

Mahadevikkattil came in second and Sree Ganesh finished third, followed by St Pius 10th.

Jawahar Thayankari, which debuted in 1977, marked their first victory in the same year and repeated it in the following year, 1978. Later, they had won in 1985 and 2010.

The much-awaited snake-boat race was held in Alappuzha on 8 August. Union Minister Nitin Gadkari had inaugurated the event at 2pm on Saturday.

The main attractions of the regatta were performances by musician Stephen Devassy's Solid Band and Grammy Award winning violinist Manoj, according to Manorama Online.

In 2014, the coveted trophy was won by Kainakary United Boat Club's Champakkulam Chundan. Karichal Chundan stands first with the highest number of victories (13), followed by Champakulam (10).

If you have missed the opportunity to watch the coveted Nehru Trophy Boat Race, fret not; There are plenty of other boat races coming up in Kerala over the next few months. Below, we have given the details of upcoming regattas in God's Own Country.

[Also read: Nehru Trophy Boat Race (Vallamkali): Complete List of Winners 1952-2015]

Date, Venue of Upcoming Snake-Boat Races in Kerala

No. Boat-Race Event Venue Date
1 Pachalam Boat Race Kochi 15 August
2 Champakara Boat Race Alappuzha 16 August
3 Mahatma Gandhi Boat Race River Pampa, Mannar 23 August
4 Mammen Mappillai Trophy River Pampa, Neerettupuram 27 August
5 Payippadu Vallaarattu Payippadu, Haripad 28 August
6 Erapuzha Chathayam Boat Race Mundankavu, Chengannur 30 August
7 Arnamula Uthrittathi Vallamkali River Pampa, Aranmula 31 August
8 Karuvatta Boat Race Karthikappally 31 August
9 Kumaranasan Memorial Boat Race River Pallana, Alappuzha 3 September
10 Thazhathangadi Boat Race Kottayam 5 September
11 Rajiv Gandhi Boat Race River Pampa, Pulinkunnu 19 September
12 Gothuruth Boat Race Paravur 20 September
13 Kallada Boat Race Kollam 27 September
14 President's Trophy Ashtamudi Lake, Kollam 1 November
15 Kayamkulam Jalolsavam Kayamkulam Lake 5 November