States of India ruled by BJP and Congress after Assembly Elections 2017
States of India ruled by BJP/NDA and Congress after Assembly Elections 2017.Shubham Ghosh

The Assembly Elections results in five states -- Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur -- came out on Saturday, March 11. While the BJP bagged UP and Uttarakhand in one-sided contests, it also managed to win power in Goa and Manipur despite falling short of the majority. The Congress returned to power in Punjab.

Also read: BJP's politics has evolved, Narendra Modi's opponents haven't; hence this result

How many states are the BJP and its allies ruling at the moment and in how many states are the Congress is in power -- either alone or in alliance?

Also read: After Bihar drama of July 2017, how many states is BJP ruling?

States currently under rule of the BJP, Congress and others
States BJP/NDA Congress/UPA Others
Jammu & Kashmir Yes No PDP
Himachal Pradesh No Yes  --
Punjab No Yes  --
Haryana Yes No  --
Uttarakhand Yes No  --
Uttar Pradesh Yes No  --
Rajasthan Yes No  --
Maharashtra Yes No Shiv Sena (NDA)
Madhya Pradesh Yes No  --
Chhattisgarh Yes No  --
Gujarat Yes No  --
Goa Yes No  MGP, GFP
Karnataka No Yes  --
Kerala No No LDF
Tamil Nadu No No AIADMK
Puducherry No Yes  --
Andhra Pradesh Yes No TDP (NDA)
Telangana No No TRS
Odisha No No BJD
Jharkhand Yes No  --
Bihar No Yes RJD-JD(U)
West Bengal No No TMC
Sikkim Yes No SDF (NDA)
Delhi No No AAP
Arunachal Pradesh Yes No No
Manipur Yes No  NPP, NPF
Mizoram No Yes  --
Meghalaya No Yes  --
Tripura No No Left
Nagaland Yes No NPF (NDA)
Assam Yes No  --
Total (31) 17 7 7