Ab de Villiers
Ab de Villiers has been referred to as a "batting genius" by CSA chief executive Haroon Lorgat.Reuters

South Africa's star batsman and ODI skipper Ab de Villiers stole the show at the Cricket South Africa Awards ceremony on Wednesday, winning five honours in total.

De Villiers was conferred with 'International Cricketer of the Year' award for the second time in two years. De Villiers joined the elite league of players who has won this prestigious award twice during their cricketing career. The other players are Makhaya Ntini, Jacques Kallis and Hashim Amla.

A total of eight players have won this award till date. But none of these above-mentioned players have won it like De Villiers as he became the only South African player to win the award in successive seasons.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) chief executive Haroon Lorgat referred to De Villiers as a "batting genius" after he won five out of the nine major awards at the CSA Awards Ceremony on Wednesday. 

"He is a true batting genius, who holds the world records for the fastest 50, 100 and 150 in ODIs. AB is just so special and must surely be the best all-round cricketer in the world. His performances are sheer class and his rankings - No. 2 in Tests and No. 1 in ODIs - tell only part of an amazing story," Lorgat said.

"He has always been an entertainer and a trendsetter while, at the same time, possessing a unique ability to dig really deep when it matters. AB has modestly taken limited-overs batting to a new level and has done it with a style and panache that is beyond the reach of most."

De Villiers also won the 'ODI Cricketer of the Year', 'Cricketers' Cricketer of the Year' and 'Supporters' Cricketer of the Year'. The destructive batsman also received a 'Special Award' for hitting the fastest century against West Indies in Johannesburg. 

Hashim Amla clinched the 'Test Cricketer of the Year Award' while Morne van Wyk won the 'T20 International Cricketer of the Year' award. Dale Steyn received an award too for a special delivery that he bowled against West Indies in a Test match in Cape Town. Shabnim Ismail recieved the Women's Cricketer of the Year Award.

Full List of Major Award Winners:

Cricketer of the Year: AB de Villiers

Test Cricketer of the Year: Hashim Amla

ODI international Cricketer of the Year: De Villiers

T20 international Cricketer of the Year: Morne van Wyk

Cricketers' Cricketer of the Year: De Villiers

Supporters' Cricketer of the Year: De Villiers

Special award: De Villiers (fastest ODI century, against West Indies in Johannesburg)

Delivery of the Year: Dale Steyn (third Test against West Indies in Cape Town)

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Shabnim Ismail