Mumbai's special Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA) court on Friday convicted 12 of the 13 accused in the 2006 serial train blasts case.

The court is likely to announce their sentence on Monday, 14 September.

Abdul Wahid Din Mohhamad Shaikh, accused number eight in the case, was acquitted.

Special MCOCA judge Yatin D Shinde who had finished the trial in the 7/11 Mumbai train bombings on 19 August, 2014, pronounced his verdict over a year later.

At least 188 people were killed and 829 injured when seven RDX bombs kept in seven first-class compartments of Mumbai local trains on various stretches went off on 11 July, 2006, PTI reported.

The bombs kept in pressure cookers on the north-bound trains exploded at or near Khar Road-Santacruz, Bandra-Khar Road, Jogeshwari-Mahim Junction, Mira Road-Bhayander, Matunga-Mahim Junction and Borivali in a span of 11 minutes.

Maharashtra Anti-Terrorism Squad (ATS) had arrested the 13 accused between 20 July, 2006 and 3 October, 2006. They questioned as many as 250 defence and prosecution witnesses, The Indian Express reported.

The special MCOCA court found them all guilty in the serial train blasts case on 6 August, 2007.

The 13 people were – Kamal Ahamed Ansari, 37, Tanvir Ahmed Ansari, 37, Mohd Faisal Shaikh, 36, Ehtesham Siddiqui, 30, Mohammad Majid Shafi, 32, Shaikh Alam Shaikh, 41, Mohd Sajid Ansari, 34, Abdul Wahid Shaikh, 34, Muzzammil Shaikh, 27, Soheil Mehmood Shaikh, 43, Zamir Ahmad Shaikh, 36, Naveed Hussain Khan, 30, Asif Khan, 38. They were reportedly identified as Pakistani nationals.

Mumbai has braced up for Friday's verdict and security has been beefed up as the city is celebrating the Hindu festival, Ganeshotsav. Special bandobast has been made in the state capital, which is already facing several threats following the execution of 1993 Mumbai blasts accused Yakub Memon.

"Proper bandobast has been made and all other arrangements have been put in place," Joint Commissioner of Police (Law and Order) Deven Bharti said.