Watch Times Square 2015 New Year Eve’s Ball Drop Event Live on Smart Devices via App; Download and Compatibility Details
. Fireworks explode over Times Square as the crystal ball is hoisted before New Year celebrations in New York December 31, 2012.JOSHUA LOTT/REUTERS

Times Square ball drop has been traditionally followed for over a 100 years in the USA. Over time it has gained an immense popularity not just in the America, but all across the world. thanks to the social media.

In about a few hours from now, thousands of revellers will come out in hordes converging to the New York City's iconic land mark Time Square to witness the globally acclaimed ball drop as the clock strikes 12am on 1 January 2015.

New Year Eve 2015 Ball Drop Apple iTunes app
New Year Eve 2015 Ball Drop Apple iTunes app (screen shot)Apple iTunes screen-shot

For those unlucky people who can't make it to the Manhattan mid-town on the New Year's Eve, show organisers have teamed up with an app developer, Countdown Entertainment to facilitate billions of fans across the world to watch the event live on their smartphones and tablets under the cozy comfort of their home.

A new version of 'Times Square Official New Year's Eve Ball' app has been released for free in Apple App store and Google Play store.

New Year Eve 2015 Ball Drop Google App
New Year Eve 2015 Ball Drop Google Android App screen-shotGoogle Play screen-shot

Salient Features of Times Square Official New Year's Eve Ball App include:

- Watch live streaming of exclusive events

- Get real-time updates via Twitter

- Customise countdown clock with your personal photo and time zone

System Requirements:

Platform Apple devices Android devices
OS version compatible iOS v6.0 and above v2.3.3 and above
Size 11.2 MB 6.6MB
Current App Version v2.0.16 v3.0.1
Last updated 16 December 2014 17 December 2014
New features
    • Updates to art.
    • Updated video streaming capability.
    • Compatibility with iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 plus
    • Simplified design, updated for 2014
    • Much better video stream compatibility
    • Better support for a nearly all 4.0- 4.4 devices
    • NEW twitter integration
Download link HERE HERE

The show organisers have also made arrangements to webcast the six-hour live event online free.

The Times Square 2015 Webcast will begin at 6pm EST on 31 December 2014 (4:30am IST, 1 January 2015) and ends at 12:15am  on 1 January 2015 EST (10:45am IST, 1 January 2015). The show will be streamed live on multiple websites, which includes,, and

Set your clocks for the Times Square Ball Drop event live coverage:

City Time Time-Zone
New York (USA. - New York) Wednesday, 31 December 2014, 18:00:00 EST
Los Angeles (USA. - California) Wednesday, 31 December 2014, 15:00:00 PST
Ottawa (Canada- Ontario) Wednesday, 31 December 2014, 18:00:00 EST
Rio de Janeiro (Brazil - Rio de Janeiro) Wednesday, 31 December 2014, 21:00:00 BRST
London (United Kingdom - England) Wednesday, 31 December 2014, 23:00:00 GMT
Paris (France) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 00:00:00 CET
Johannesburg (South Africa) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 01:00:00 SAST
Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates - Abu Dhabi) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 03:00:00 GST
Islamabad (Pakistan) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 04:00:00 PKT
New Delhi (India - Delhi) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 04:30:00 IST
Beijing (China - Beijing Municipality) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 07:00:00 CST
Hong Kong (Hong Kong) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 07:00:00 HKT
Seoul (South Korea) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 08:00:00 KST
Tokyo (Japan) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 08:00:00 JST
Canberra (Australia - Australian Capital Territory) Thursday, 1 January 2015, 10:00:00 AEDT


Also read