Benfica players during a training sessionReuters

Atletico Madrid vs Benfica – it promises to be a cracking Champions League encounter, with the result likely to go either way.

Both Atletico Madrid and Benfica picked up all three points in their opening matches in Group C, and that too with similar 2-0 scorelines. The 2014 runners-up beat Galatasaray, while the Portuguese side got the better of Astana.

With the match held at the Vicente Calderon, Atletico will certainly start as the favourites, but as this season's Champions League has shown more than on one occasion already, that comes with an "at your own risk" sign.

"This is a tough match against a team that is very used to winning," Atletico Madrid manager Diego Simeone said. "They are a very competitive side with pace down the flanks.

"This match demands intensity from us and we will try to put the ball where we want from the start."

Benfica manager Rui Vitoria believes his side are capable of taking all three points from Madrid, but he knows it will be far from easy.

"When I say Atletico are an aggressive team I mean they are an intense side," Vitoria said. "They are a very competitive outfit. We give Atletico the respect they are due in the same way they have to respect Benfica as a quality team of European stature.

"There is no psychological barrier to winning away from home. Our goal is winning the match, respecting Atletico and not underestimating them.

"Past results are in the past and we must be focused on Wednesday's game. Three thousand Benfica fans will support us tomorrow and that proves this club's greatness. Atletico's stats just reflect the respect we must show them."

Team news: Benfica have no injury worries coming into this game, while Simeone only has Koke missing from the squad.

Where to Watch Live

Atletico Madrid vs Benfica is set to begin at 12.15 am IST (8.45 pm CET, 7.45 pm BST, 2.45 pm ET). There will be no live coverage of the match in India, but the action can be watched via online live streaming in India on Ten Sports Live.

Viewers in UK can watch the Champions League Group C game live on BT Sport Extra, while the match can also be watched via live streaming online on Watch BT Sport or by downloading the BT Sport app.

US viewers can watch Atletico Madrid vs Benfica match live on ESPN3, while the match can also be live streamed online on FoxSoccer2Go and Watch ESPN.

Viewers in Spain, Australia, France, Middle East and North Africa can watch the Champions League game live on Bein Sports and Bein Sports Connect.

Also read