kieron pollard
West Indies' Kieron Pollard will be seen in the Ram Slam T20 challenge 2016Reuters

While the South Africa cricket team continue with their brilliance in Australia, the 14th edition of the Ram Slam T20 Challenge gets under way on Super Saturday. The tournament organised by Cricket South Africa (CSA), as usual, features six teams this time around as well.

On Saturday, two matches are scheduled to take place. Defending champions Titans clash swords with Lions, while the opening game of the day sees the Knights against the Cape Cobras. Both matches take place at the new Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg.

The tournament had seen a bright start in South Africa but over the years, it lost its sheen thanks to the match fixing scandals, which saw as many as five players including Jean Symes and Thami Tsolekile, who have received major bans from the sport. Nevertheless, the cricket league goes on.

It is difficult for the Ram Slam T20 challenge to get at par with the likes of the Indian Premier League (IPL) or the Big Bash League (BBL) or the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), but nevertheless, being still active after 13 seasons, says a lot about the tournament.

While the South African key players will be a miss owing to their international commitments, having the likes of Kieron Pollard, who received his No-Objection Certificate (NOC) from the West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) just before the tournament, and England veteran Kevin Pietersen, in the Ram Slam T20 2016, rekindles the attraction in the tournament.

This year, the tournament runs until December 16.

Schedule

Knights vs Cape Cobras gets underway at 13:30 local (11:30 GMT | 17:00 IST) on November 12.

Lions vs Titans gets underway at 18:00 local (16:00 GMT | 21:30 IST) on November 12.

Where to watch live

India: TV: Sony ESPN and Sony ESPN HD. Live Streaming: Sonyliv.

South Africa: TV: Supersport. Live streaming: Supersport Live.

USA: TV: Willow TV. Live streaming: YouTube.

Live score: Twitter.

Also read