fifa qualifier
Pictured: France's Raphael Varane and Netherland's Vincent Janssen in action during a 2018 World Cup qualifier at the Amsterdam ArenAReuters

Netherlands take on Belgium in an international friendly on Wednesday at the Amsterdam ArenA and resume their Low Countries derby. Yes, that is the name given to a football match between these two nations, just like the El Clasico featuring Real Madrid and Barcelona. This is the 126th Low Countries derby.

With 55 wins, 41 defeats and 29 draws, Netherlands have the upper hand over Belgium in the derby but results over the recent years have found out that Belgium are way more favourites than Netherlands. 

The Belgian Red Devils, who reached the quarter finals of the UEFA Euro 2016, were the numero uno FIFA side in the world for some time. Netherlands, meanwhile, didn't even qualify for the prestigious European football tournament in France. 

"The Netherlands v Belgium is a special game. There is prestige involved in this game but more important than that are the ranking points accrued for an advantage in the eventuality of any play-off game that we might play in the future," said Netherlands manager Danny Blind.

Key players like Robin van Persie, who recently got a horrific eye injury, will miss the game for Holland, as will Arjen Robben. For Belgium, Toby Alderweireld, Marouane Fellaini and Vincent Kompany will miss the game.

Expected starting XI

Netherlands: Stekelenburg; Veltman, Blind, Van Dijk, Martins Indi; Clasie, Klaassen, Wijnaldum, Lens, Memphis; Janssen.

Belgium: Courtois; Meunier, Cavanda, Verthongen, Ciman; Witsel, Defour; De Bruyne, Eden Hazard, Carrasco; Lukaku.

Schedule

Netherlands vs Belgium will kick off 7:45 p.m. GMT (2:45 p.m. ET, 1:15 am IST [Thursday]) on November 9.

Where to watch live

India, UK: No telecast

USA: TV - beIN Sports, Fubo TV. Live streaming - beIN Sports Connect.

Netherlands: TV - Fox Sports 1. Live streaming - SBS6.

Belgium: TV - La Une.

Live scores: Twitter.