Ravindra Jadeja India New Zealand
India spinner Ravindra Jadeja appeals on Day 2 of the first Test against New Zealand, September 23, 2016Reuters

Get the spin working will be India's plan as Day 3 of the first Test match against New Zealand comes calling on Saturday. With Kane Williamson and Tom Latham looking really good in the middle, India gave a tough job at hand to try and dismiss the Kiwis for a score lower than the hosts' first innings score.

At the moment, New Zealand are 152/1 in 47 overs, after India folded their first innings for 318. The deficit is 166 runs, but the way Williamson and Latham have handled the spinners, that deficit is looking increasingly small.

Read about the New Zealand innings HERE

If the two New Zealand batsmen continue to play the way they did on Day 2, India have a really difficult task, especially if R Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja continue to be as struggle to be as penetrative as they usually are.

Get the India innings report HERE

The key wicket will be of the New Zealand captain Williamson, who has looked serene in his stay of 65 from 115 balls. Williamson is the one that holds this Kiwi batting lineup together, and the captain's wicket might just trigger a collapse.

At least that is what India will be thinking on Day 3 morning, but wanting Williamson's wicket and actually getting it are two completely different things. The 26-year-old is one of the most assured batsmen in defence, while he has that ability of great batsmen to not just put the bad balls away but make the good balls look bad.

This is where India's main man Ashwin comes in. The off-spinner is India's best bowler for a reason, and it is under such circumstances and situations that he needs to show why. Too many times on Day 2, Ashwin bowled the wrong lengths and lines, and consistency and patience will be key for the India bowlers on Saturday.

Ashwin looked like he was getting into some sort of rhythm just as the second session came to an end, and while he did not get an opportunity to continue in the final session, as it was washed out due to rain, the 30-year-old will want to be at his best on Day 3 morning.

Where to Watch Live

India vs New Zealand 1st Tst, Day 3 is scheduled for a 9.15am IST (3.45pm NZT, 4.45am BST, 11.45pm ET) start. Live Streaming and TV information is below.

India: TV: Star Sports 1/HD1 and Star Sports 3/HD3. Live Streaming: Hotstar.

New Zealand: TV: Sky Sport 3. Live Streaming: Sky Go NZ.

UK: TV: Sky Sports 2. Live Streaming: Watch Sky Sports.

US and Canada: TV: Willow TV. Live Streaming: Willow TV Online.

Middle East: TV: OSN Cricket. Live Streaming: OSN Cricket Live.

Also read