Mahmudullah Sabbir Rahman Bangladesh Asia Cup 2016
Bangladesh batsmen Mahmudullah and Sabbir Rahman will look to take their Asia Cup form into the ICC World T20 2016 qualifiersIANS

Eight teams are already preparing to fight for the ICC World T20 2016 title, and two more will be added by the weekend, as the qualifiers take centre-stage from Tuesday.

With eight teams already assured of a place in the main round of the World T20, only two places remain in the Super 10. Those two remaining places will be fought over by eight other teams, which include Bangladesh and Zimbabwe.

While Bangladesh continue to make waves with their performances in limited-overs cricket, if they drop their guard even a little, they could end up missing out on the World T20. Such is the strength of the qualifying group they are in, with Ireland, Netherlands and Oman ready to grab that one Super 10 spot.

Bangladesh beat Pakistan and Sri Lanka in their way to the Asia Cup T20 final, and while they were beaten by India in the summit clash, there were more than enough signs there to suggest they should enter the Super 10s as long as they play to their optimum levels.

Netherlands and Ireland, two teams who have picked up famous victories in various ICC tournaments in the past, have the calibre to go through as well, but Bangladesh, on paper, look the clear favourites.

Zimbabwe will be that team in Group B, but in Afghanistan, Scotland and Hong Kong, they have three sides quite capable of creating an upset.

Such is the T20 game, one player can take the game away from you with a brilliant knock or spell, and Zimbabwe will be wary of the threats posed by the other three teams, particularly Afghanistan, who impressed one and all with their gallant performances in the 50-over World Cup in Australia and New Zealand last year.

There really is only one thing to bank on in these ICC World T20 2016 qualifiers – expect the unexpected.

Groups: Group A: Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Oman.

Group B: Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Scotland and Afghanistan.

ICC World T20 2016 qualifiers schedule: Group B: Zimbabwe vs Hong Kong

Date: Tuesday, March 8.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

Group B: Scotland vs Afghanistan

Date: Tuesday, March 8.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

Group A: Bangladesh vs Netherlands

Date: Wednesday, March 9.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.

Group A: Ireland vs Oman

Date: Wednesday, March 9.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.

Group B: Scotland vs Zimbabwe

Date: Thursday, March 10.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

Group B: Hong Kong vs Zimbabwe

Date: Thursday, March 10.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

Group A: Netherlands vs Oman

Date: Friday, March 11.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.

Group A: Bangladesh vs Ireland

Date: Friday, March 11.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.

Group B: Zimbabwe vs Afghanistan

Date: Saturday, March 12.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

Group B: Scotland vs Hong Kong

Date: Saturday, March 12.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: VCA Stadium in Nagpur.

Group A: Netherlands vs Ireland

Date: Sunday, March 13.

Time: 3 p.m. IST (9.30 a.m. GMT, 4.30 a.m. ET).

Venue: HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.

Group A: Bangladesh vs Oman

Date: Sunday, March 13.

Time: 7.30 p.m. IST (2 p.m. GMT, 9 a.m. ET).

Venue: HPCA Stadium in Dharamsala.

TV listings: India and the rest of the subcontinent: Star Sports network. USA: Willow TV. Canada: Sportsnet and Willow TV. UK and Ireland: Sky Sports. Australia: Channel 9 and Fox Sports. New Zealand: Sky Sport. South Africa and Sub Saharan Africa: SuperSport. Middle East and North Africa: OSN.

Also read
Quick Links