Facebook Logo.
Facebook Logo.Flickr

The end of the year is upon us and Facebook's Year in Review feature is live. This time around, the company has made a few changes to the feature so that users don't see images of bad memories and can edit the set of photos that are used.

Unlike last year, Facebook has used a simple format with Polaroid-like images placed one after the other.

At the top and end of the script is the share button and edit option which lets the user remove images as per their discretion.

The company uses images that were highlights of the year for the user according to their algorithm, which had issues since it would also feature negative memories like the death of close relatives. Facebook had been criticised for this last year.

This time, the social media giant says, they have used a "unique set of filters" to "reduce the chance we'll show you a photo you don't want to see."

"We heard feedback last year that we need to do more to select the photos that are most enjoyable to people and make it easier for them to edit the photos they see and share in their Year in Review. So we've applied a unique set of filters to Your Year in Review to reduce the chance we'll show you a photo you don't want to see. And for the photos that our algorithms don't catch, we're giving people control over the photos in their Year in Review. Any photo that we suggest that you'd rather not include can be easily removed or replaced, and you can choose whether you want to enjoy this experience yourself or share it with friends," Mashable quoted a Facebook's spokesperson as saying.