Karan Johar and Shahid Kapoor
Karan Johar and Shahid Kapoor on the sets of "Jhalak Dikhhla Jaa 8".Twitter

Zee Cine Awards 2016 is around the corner, and the nomination list of the popular award show is out. Although the complete list of nominations is yet to be revealed, nominees for four categories — best actor (male), best actor (female), best film and song of the year — are here.

Zee Cine Awards 2016 will be hosted by Karan Johar and Shahid Kapoor, the former informed fans on Twitter. Karan shared a photo on the micro-blogging site saying: "All set to host the #zeecineawards with @shahidkapoor !! Watch this space .... (sic)"

This is the first time Shahid will host the Zee Cine Awards, and the actor said he always prefers not to use explicit language on stage. "I personally do not support use of vulgar or explicit language on stage. I have never done it before and I always try not to do it. I feel one should be sensitive towards others. Some feel bad easily, (while) others are able to take the joke," PTI quoted Shahid as saying at a media interaction for the award show on Friday.

Nominees for best actor (male) are Salman Khan ("Bajrangi Bhaijaan"), Ranveer Singh ("Bajirao Mastani"), Ranbir Kapoor ("Tamasha"), Varun Dhawan ("Badlapur"), Akshay Kumar ("Baby") and Ajay Devgn ("Drishyam").

Female nominees for the same category are Deepika Padukone ("Piku"), Priyanka Chopra ("Bajirao Mastani"), Deepika Padukone ("Bajirao Mastani"), Kangana Ranaut ("Tanu Weds Manu Returns"), Priyanka Chopra ("Dil Dhadakne Do") and Anushka Sharma ("NH10").

There will be tough competition among the nominees for best film, which are "Bajrangi Bhaijaan", "Bajirao Mastani", "Piku", "Tanu Weds Manu Returns", "Baby" and "Badlapur". Nominations for song of the year include "Chittiyaan Kalaiyaan" from "Roy", "Prem Ratan Dhan Payo" from the movie of the same name, "Gerua" from "Dilwale", "Gulaabo" from "Shaandaar", "Main Hoon Hero Tera" from "Hero" and "Selifie Le Le Re" from "Bajrangi Bhaijaan".

Zee Cine Awards 2016 will reportedly be held on 20 February, and the event will be aired on 5 March on TV. Unlike previous years, the award show will also recognise the contribution of cinema in Marathi, Bengali and Telugu.

Check this space for updates on the complete nomination list.