Yuvraj Singh
India's Yuvraj Singh avoids a bee during a practice session ahead of their first test cricket match against West Indies in New Delhi November 5, 2011.Reuters

The All-India Senior Selection Committee, which met on Friday to pick the Team India players for the ICC World T20 2012 in Sri Lanka, has roped ace-cricketer Yuvraj Singh into the squad.

This will be Yuvraj's first international tournament after recovering from a rare germ cell cancer, which was diagnosed at the early stages when the cricketer was at the peak of his career.

He was diagnosed with cancer just days after he was accorded the title of the man of the series when India lifted the World Cup in 2011 for the first time.

The 30-year-old maintained a laudable fortitude in overcoming his illness, and showed a relatively faster recovery when he was undergoing treatment in the US.

Meanwhile, the selection committee has also named senior off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, who will mark his comeback to cricket after a year's gap. Pacer L Balaji and leg-spinner Piyush Chawla's names were also figured in the 15-member team, which will be heading to Sri Lanka for the World T20.

On the other hand, master-blaster Sachin Tendulkar has been dropped from the team for the T20 series against New Zealand.

Here follows the list of Team India for T20 International series against New Zealand and ICC World T20 in Sri Lanka.

Indian Team for the test series against New Zealand

M.S. Dhoni (Captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman
Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, R. Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, Pragyan Ojha, Umesh Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane
Piyush Chawla, Ishant Sharma, Suresh Raina.

Indian Team for the ICC world T20 2012:

M.S. Dhoni (Captain), Gautam Gambhir (Vice-Captain), Virender Sehwag Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, R. Ashwin, Zaheer Khan, L. Balaji, Ashok Dinda, Rohit Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh, Manoj Tiwary.