'Yennai Arindhaal'
A poster from 'Yennai Arindhaal'.IB Times India

After a long wait, official box office collection report for Ajith's "Yennai Arindhaal' has come out. Initial reports suggest that the movie has done extremely well in Tamil Nadu and Kerala but failed to break the record created by Vijay's "Kaththi", Vikram's "I' and Rajinikanth's "Lingaa".

Considering the screen count and the pre-release promotions of "Yennai Arindhaal" with the other three blockbusters and the fact that the movie was released on Thursday -- a non holiday, film industry insiders value Ajith starrer's collection report as extremely good.

Tamil Nadu

As per reports, "Yennai Arindhaal" has grossed approximately 11 crore on its opening day with the net amount being approximately 8.35 crore.

Meanwhile, "I" had minted 7.4 crore net in Tamil Nadu (9.62 crore gross) on the first day of its release and "Kaththi" and "Lingaa" day one collections amount to approximately 12.5 crore and 12.8 crore net, respectively. 

Read the official Review of "Yennai Arindhaal" Here


In Kerala, "Yennai Arindhaal" has grossed 1.65 crore and net of 1.32 crore on its opening day.

#YennaiArindhaal -Thursday - Kerala - Gross - Rs 1.65 Cr , Net -Rs 1.32. Best - 1. PVR (Kochi), 2. Shenoys (EKM), 3. Priyadarsini (Palakad)" tweeted industry analyst Sreedhar Pillai

But, the Ajith starrer couldn't surpass the record of Vikram's "I' and Vijay's "Kaththi" in the state.  "I" had collected 2.5 crore net on the opening day and "Kaththi" had grossed 2.07 crore and net of 1.65 crore in its first day.

"Yennai ARindhaal" which was released worldwide in more than 1,000 theatres on 5 February has opened to a great response from audience and critics alike.

The movie had already created record for Ajith in United States. The movie had collected $113,232 (approximately Rs 69 lakh) from 75 screens in its premiere in the country. Previous records for Ajith in US was for "Arrambam".

The movie, directed by Gautham Vasudev Menon, stars Trisha Krishnan, Anushka Shetty, Vivek, Arun Vijay, Daniel Balaji, Amit Bhargava, Rajasimman and Devi Ajith.