The X Factor UK 2016 judging panel
The X Factor UK 2016 judging panelThe X Factor UK Facebook Page

British popular reality television show "The X Factor" 2016 is about to kick off again. The US franchise of the show was cancelled after just three seasons over a dip in its popularity, but it is still going strong in the UK with series 13 all set to start.

"The X Factor" UK 2016 series 13 will be officially premiered at 8pm on Saturday and Sunday on ITV.


Producers of the show have revamped the judging panel to bring freshness to the show. Some may miss the old, while others welcome the change, but it is all part of the game. Three judges -- Cheryl Fernandez-Versini, Nick Grimshaw and Rita Ora – have been replaced by Sharon Osbourne, Louis Walsh and Nicole Scherzinger for "The X Factor" 2016. They were part of the judging panel in the past, so they will join Simon Cowell again this season. Mel B of Spice Girls will be the guest judge.

Dermot O'Leary, who hosted "The X Factor" series 4 to series 8, will return to the show. He will replace Caroline Flack and Olly Murs as the host. Rochelle Humes and Melvin Odoom too will be replaced by Matt Edmondson and Rylan Clark-Neal as the co-presenters on ITV2.

What to expect from "The X Factor" UK 2016

With the rating of the show decreasing over the last couple of years, producers will try to revive it. Don't be surprised if controversial events pop up during the show.

Auditions for this season started in April this year, a few months after Louisa Johnson was crowned the winner. So, performances of the contestants were filmed months in advance, and they are supposed to know if they have made it through to the show, but makers of the competition have managed to keep the results under wraps.

Contestants need green signal from three or more judges to qualify for the first round of competition.