south asian games
India have bagged a stellar number of gold medals in the South Asian Games 2016IANS

The 11-day extravaganza which began on February 5 amidst much gusto and euphoria finally comes to an end of Tuesday. The South Asian Games 2016 Closing Ceremony takes place at the Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Guwahati, where a host of Indian celebrities are set to take the stage.

India lead the pack among the eight SAARC countries in the medals tally. With 308 medals achieved this year, the hosts once again asserted their dominance in the prestigious quadrennial event. 

While there have been last-minute heartbreaks, with India losing out to Pakistan in a close men's hockey final and the India U-23 men's football team losing to Nepal in the final, the 188 gold medals achieved so far by the host nation is quite impressive.

The second-placed side, Sri Lanka, have just 25 gold medals.

The final day of South Asian Games 2016 will not only end with India being declared as the undisputed winners, but also be celebrated by showcasing the heritage of the nation. A musical extravaganza is expected at the venue during the closing ceremony, with a number of renowned bands set to feature, including Still Waters (Sikkim), Purple Fusion (Nagaland), Salvator (Manipur), The Soul Rebels (Arunachal Pradesh), Boomerang (Mizoram) and Iron Sky (Tripura).

Apart from these stellar rock and fusion bands from the North-Eastern part of India, well-known Bollywood singer Shaan of 'Chaar Kadam' and 'Suno Na' fame will also be performing live. He will be joined by Lou Majaw & Friends, Sangita Kakoti, Mausam Gogoi, Mayukh Hazarika and a host of young musicians.

Where to watch live

South Asian Games 2016 Closing Ceremony starts at 2:30 pm IST onwards on Tuesday, 16 February. 

Viewers in India can catch the entire event on DD Sports. The online streaming will be available on the YouTube profile of MIB. Radio commentary of the event will be available on the All India Radio FM Gold.

Other live streaming options:

In Pakistan: Geo Super.

Sri Lanka: MTV Sports.

Bangladesh: Gazi TV.

Afghanistan: Lemar TV.

Nepal: Kantipur Gold.