After the state government decided to remove the best comedian category from the Kerala State Film Awards from next year, popular Malayalam entertainment channel Asianet organised a special awards show to honour the best comedy performers of the industry.

The first edition of the star-studded comedy awards night was aired on Asianet on Sunday, 29 November.

The event saw the presence of actors Jayaram, Kunchacko Boban, Aju Varghese, Jagatheesh, Neeraj Madhav, Guinness Pakru, Tovino Thomas, Vinay Forrt, Soubin Shahir, Anusree, KPAC Lalitha, Rachana Narayanankutty, Chandhini, Ramesh Pisharody, Tiny Tom, Janardhanan, Suraj Venjaramoodu, Shabareesh Varma, Sharafudheen, Anupama Parameshwaran, Gayathri Suresh, Thesni Khan, Krishna Prabha,    directors Siddique, VK Prakash, musicians Gopi Sunder, Franco, Sidharth Menon and many others.

Apart from them, Asianet Comedy Awards was also attended by the serial actors of the channel.

While Jayaram bagged the award for best actor in comedy role, Anusree received the best actress award for her performances in "Chandrettan Evideya" and "Ithihasa".

Sidharth Bharathan's "Chandrettan Evideya" was selected as the best comedy film and in his absence, his mother KPAC Lalitha received the honour from Kunchacko Boban.

Versatile actor Jagathy Sreekumar, who is recovering from an accident, was also honoured with the life time achievement award by Jagadeesh and Suraj.

The award show, hosted by Jewel Mary and Meera, also saw the comedy programmes and dance performances of the stars.

Watch full video of Asianet Comedy Awards 2015 HERE

Check full winners' list below:

Special jury awards â€" Suriya

Best actress â€" Anusree ("Ithihasa", "Chandrettan Evideya")

Best comedy pair â€" Soubin Shahir and Vinay Forrt ("Premam")

Best presenter â€" Ramesh Pisharody (Badai Bungalow)

Life time glory award â€" Janardhanan

Life time achievement award â€" Jagathy Sreekumar

Best director â€" Siddique ("Bhaskar the Rascal")

Comedy icon â€" Aju Varghese ("Kunjiramayanam", "Oru Vadakkan Selfie")

Best film â€" "Chandrettan Evideya" (Sidharth Bharathan)

Versatile Comedian â€"Jagadeesh

Best actor â€" Jayaram ("Thinkal Muthal Velli Vare", "Mylanchi Monjulla Veed")

Upcoming entertainer â€" Nobi

Best Writer Comical Scene â€" Shabareesh Varma, Rajesh Murugesan ("Premam")

Best Comedy Skit â€" Santhosh Echikkanom

Best entertaining film â€" "Jamna Pyari"

Check out some photos of the show below: