For Telugu Desam Party (TDP) chief Nara Chandrababu Naidu, victory of the TDP-BJP alliance both in Assembly and Lok Sabha elections in Seemandhra has brought estranged brother-in-law Nandamuri Harikrishna and his kin closer.

Harikrishna and his actor sons - Junior NTR and Kalyan Ram - met Naidu at the latter's residence on Saturday and congratulated him for landslide win in the election. Harikrishna and Junion NTR did not participate in the party's electioneering for the recently concluded polls. But they had campaigned for TDP in the 2004 elections.

In Seemandhra, TDP won 102 of the 175 Assembly seats, and 15 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats. Jaganmohan Reddy-headed YSRCP won 67 Assembly seats and eight Lok Sabha seats.

BJP bagged two Lok Sabha seats and four Assembly seats, while independents won two Assembly seats. Congress has not managed even a single seat both in Assembly and Lok Sabha in this election.

Naidu to Visit Tirumala on Monday

TDP chief Naidu will visit Sri Venkateswara Temple in Tirumala on 19 May, after the party's victory in the elections. After visiting the deity in the morning, Naidu will return to Hyderabad immediately.

Former Prime Minister and JD(S) leader HD Deve Gowda, actress and YSRCP leader Roja were among those who visited the deity of the Tirumala temple on Sunday, after their respective victories in the polls. 

Meanwhile, Naidu's younger brother-in-law and actor N Balakrishna, who won the Hindupur Assembly seat in Anantapur district, held a victory rally in the town and thanked the people. 

Balakrishna promised the people to bring a permanent solution to the drinking water problem the people are facing in the town. He vowed to develop Hindupur as a model constituency in the state.

Meanwhile, K Chandrasekhar Rao, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president, is all set to become the first Chief Minister of the newly carved out Telangana state. Telangana will officially become the 29th state of India on 2 June.

On Sunday, Rao met Andhra Pradesh Governor ESL Narasimhan in Hyderabad.

Rao was elected the leader of TRS legislature party on Saturday. TRS has won 63 of the 119 Assembly seats in Telangana to form the state government comfortably.