The home nations clash between England and Wales will be one of the highlights of UEFA Euro 2016, as the 24 participating nations of the tournament in France found out their fate, with some happy, some content and a few others filled with that sense of trepidation as they envisage getting through their group.

After the draw was opened up by a bit of dance and music, with David Guetta at the helm, it was down to the business of picking the teams from the four pots that had already been allotted, with England inevitably drawn against Wales. Group B has been made a lot more difficult after Russia were thrown into that hat as well, with Slovakia making up the fourth team.

France, the hosts and already set in place in Group A, have been given a relatively comfortable draw on paper, with Albania, Romania and Switzerland.

The defending champions Spain also have a group that they should feel confident of getting out of, even if the Czech Republic, Turkey and Croatia will fancy their chances in Group D. The world champions Germany have been drawn with Ukraine, Poland and Northern Ireland.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic and his Sweden team will have to play out of their skins if they are to get out of Group D and into the knockout rounds, considering the other three teams are Belgium, Italy and the Republic of Ireland.

Cristiano Ronaldo and his Portugal team will be relatively happy with the Group F draw, which is also made up of Iceland, Austria and Hungary.

The UEFA Euro 2016 will be held in France from 10 June to 10 July.

Group A: France, Romania, Albania, Switzerland.

Group B: England, Russia, Wales, Slovakia.

Group C: Germany, Ukraine, Poland, Northern Ireland.

Group D: Spain, Czech Republic, Turkey, Croatia.

Group E: Belgium, Italy, Republic of Ireland, Sweden.

Group F: Portugal, Iceland, Austria, Hungary.