Xbox One
Xbox One and five top games.Reuters

With the New Year approaching, Xbox One has completed one more eventful year from bringing down its price to match that of its rival PlayStation 4 to delinking the Kinect from the bundle to many exclusive games.

Below are some of the games that have done well on Microsoft's next-generation Xbox One:

Sunset Overdrive:

Sunset Overdrive
Sunset Overdrive was released on November 2014 for Xbox

Sunset Overdrive is an Xbox One exclusive gaming title that brings new features. It has an open world set-up that is set in the future. Players have to fight mutants who were affected by the new energy drink from a company, FizzCo. The game offers various abilities where one can take a tactical position and fight these OD'd creatures.

Players will be able to jump from building, do some wall-running or using the grind rails to move and take down enemies. Players will also have hype-agility, they will be able to zip-line and customisable special abilities. It also includes some unique weapons that are unconventional including the combination of dynamite, fireworks, harpoons and acid.

The game also provides ChaosSquad, an 8-player cooperative experience with players being able to vote on the objectives. The game was released on 8 October 2014 and is developed by Insomniac Games. The game costs $59.99.

Forza Motorsport 5:

Forza Motorsport 5
Forza Motorsport 5 introduces

This racing simulation video game is an Xbox One exclusive video game that brings in a host of features. The game also has voiced commentary from BBC motor show, Top Gear's Jeremy Clarkson, Richard Hammond and James May.

Released on 22 November 2013, the game boasts about more than 200 cars with 50 manufacturers. It also includes 17 circuits. It includes some of the famous circuits like the Silverstone Circuit and many others.

The game focuses on astonishing details with real-life characteristics, it has different types of vehicles from classic sports to extreme exotics to open-wheel race cars.

It also boasts of a fast and competitive multiplayer in the game. Players will be able to customise a lot and due to the cloud, they will be able to do this in a seamless manner. The game costs $59.99.


Destiny was released on 9 September, 2014.Facebook

Bungie's foray into setting up a new sci-fi myth in with the game Destiny, was a considerable success given the fact that players of the game had to be always connected to internet in order to play the game. The game has the elements from role playing aspect and MMO.

The game allows players to explore the solar system as Guardians and last protectors of Earth. They also get to explore Mars, Moon and Venus and defeat the enemies. Players will be able to upgrade all aspects of their looks and weapons. And they will have three types of classes - Titan, Warlock and Hunter.

The game also has various types of enemies - Fallen, Hive, Vex and Cabal. It also boasts different game modes like Crucible, Patrol, Strike, Tower, Story and Raid.

Destiny was released on 9 September 2014. It costs $59.99.

Dragon Age: Inquisition

Dragon Age: Inquisition
Dragon Age: Inquisition was released on 18 November,

BioWare's latest fantasy action RPG, carrying forward the tradition of the Dragon Age series is Dragon Age: Inquisition.

The game takes place in Thedas, with the dragons bringing chaos to the land and mages crying for war, players are tasked to lead the Inquisition with their allies as nations have risen up against one another. Players have to explore, lead and battle in the game.

The game offers a new type of combat as it drives the focus on the player's abilities to prepare and position as a member of the team and more planning. One of the returning features is the Tactical view that allows players to plan their attacks better.

The game's romance aspect will be based on romance arcs depending on the reaction to events and different variables to each character.

Players will have to select between different races that include Dwarves, Elves, Humans and Qunari. Players will also have to select a class - Mage, Rogue and Warrior.

One of the important features in the game is the player choice that will change the course in the game. The game will also have a multiplayer mode.

Dragon Age: Inquisition was released on 18 November 2014. It costs $59.99.

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor was released on 7 October,

Developer Monolith Production and publisher Warner Bros Interactive Entertainment's Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor is an open world, action RPG-based on the universe of The Lord of the Rings. It takes place between the events of The Hobbit and The Lords of the Rings.

It will allow players to control a new character Talion, a Ranger who has ghost-like abilities. The game takes place in Mordor and the player can go after many side quests. Players will be able to discover new tales from Torvin, the Dwarven Hunter.

The game boasts of the Nemesis System, where each interaction with other characters will be remembered and the character changes accordingly through the whole game.

The game allows players to ride the monsters and battle against the Beastmaster Warchiefs. It also allows players to attack from the shadows. And it has five new epic Runes. The game also gives a new Lord of the Hunt skin, allowing the player to make the transformation into the ultimate Beastmaster.

Shadow of Mordor was released on 30 September 2014. This game costs $59.99.