Destiny will release on 9 September, 2014. (Bungie)

Ever since developer Bungie and publisher Activision made the revelation of this first-person shooter (FPS) game, the curiosity on 'mythic science fiction' game has raised the expectation among gamers. It has even been featured in numerous 'most-anticipated games in 2014' list.

Below we list the ten things about the game that you probably were not aware of:

1. Gameplay

The game is what Bungie calls is a 'shared-world shooter' that is an always-online first-person shooter and is expected to feature massively multiplayer online game (MMO) elements. Players will be matched with others in-game and interactions can be held only with them.

2. Setting

The game spans the entire solar system but has a post-apocalyptic setting where alien races have colonized other planets and humans live on Earth protected by 'the Traveler,' a celestial body. The game unwraps after the end of the Golden Age that placed the human race on the brink of extinction. Humans stay in the place called The City the last refuge for humans.

3. Characters

Human race is protected by The Guardians who defend the city. They are the last defenders who are tasked to protect the human kind. There are three races among them - Humans, Awoken, and Exo.

There are also three classes that players have to choose - Hunters (reconnaissance), Warlocks (space wizards), and Titans (future soldiers).

Players can combine the race and class of The Guardians as their playable characters.

The Guardians are the protectors of humankind in Destiny. (Facebook)

4. Enemies

The enemies of the Guardians lie in the vast solar system and they are highly evolved with weapons and armor plating. As of now, only four types are known - Dreg, Vandal, Captain and Cabal. But others include Centurions, Legionnaires, Vex and Hive.

To fight enemies like Hive Ogre players will need powerful weapons. (Facebook)

5. Weapons & Armor

The game has some of the largest arsenal of customizable weaponry. All players will get to carry three weapons a sidearm, a primary, and a heavy weapon. Each weapon will have a different name, stat and colored ammo depending upon how rare the weapon is. There will be skill trees for weapons. Armors will be customizable and can be worn on head, body, hands, legs and feet.

One of the heavy weapons in the game. (Facebook)

6. Vehicles

Spacecrafts are big part of the game and players can use these vehicles for their movement from one location to another. A location known as the Tower allows players to upgrade or change their spacecrafts.

Spacecrafts in hangar. (Facebook)

7. Faction wars

Although has not been confirmed, IGN has pointed out that the screen in the reveal trailer showcases Faction war. It even mentions some of the rumored factions in the game like the FOTC, New Monarchy, Dead Orbit Faction and more.

8. Multiplayer

Though players can play alone, Bungie says the best experience can be derived by playing with others. Bungie says on its website that the game features "competitive multiplayer, cooperative gameplay choices, wide open public combat destinations, and third-person community spaces."

Devil Walker must be taken down by several people. (Facebook)

9. Pets - White Tiger

A concept art of the game had featured a white tiger that had fueled speculation of raising pet animals. Destiny was originally codenamed Project Tiger. However, there has been no information on the inclusion of pet animals in the game.

10. Release Date

Bungie has already scheduled the game's worldwide release for 9 September 2014 for PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One.

(YouTube Courtesy: destinygame)