Sasikala slapping the samdhi

On Thursday, Edappadi Palaniswami sworn-in as Tamil Nadu chief minister on Thursday. 30 other MLAs were also sworn-in as ministers of the state cabinet. He was given 15 days time to prove majority during a floor test. 

Meanwhile, O Panneerselvam said that he would continue fighting till the end. He was expelled from the party for betraying Sasikala and opposing her elevation as AIADMK chief. AIADMK MP V Maitreyan from O Panneerselvam's faction met Election Commission officials in Delhi. 

VK Sasikala was sent to jail on Wednesday after being convicted in a disproportionate assets case by the Supreme Court. She chose a loyalist E Palaniswami as the legislature party leader in her stead. 

8:30 pm IST: 

6:10 pm IST:

5:53 pm IST:

5:10 pm IST:

4:52 pm IST:

4:43 pm IST: Palaniswami sworn-in as chief minister, 30 other MLAs join state cabinet. 

4:40 pm IST: E Palaniswami sworn-in as Tamil Nadu chief minister.

4:29 pm IST: E Palaniswami to take oath as Tamil Nadu chief minister. 

4:16 pm IST: Tamil Nadu cabinet and CM-designate E. Palanisamy's oath ceremony to begin at Raj Bhavan shortly.

3:56 pm IST: All members of outgoing Cabinet except Panneerselvam and Ma Foi K Pandiarajan have been retained.

3:35 pm IST: AIADMK leaders reach Raj Bhavan for Tamil Nadu cabinet and CM-designate E. Palanisamy's oath ceremony.

3:28 pm IST:

2:57 pm IST: "Now, we'll go back to our party supporters & discuss as to who'll lead the party next," said S Semmalai, AIADMK, another supporter of O Panneerselvam. 

2:56 pm IST: "Many MLAs will support only Amma's rule and not rule of a family," said K Pandiarajan, AIADMK, who supports O Panneerserlvam. 

2:35 pm IST: "Why 15 days have been given to CM to prove his majority? Governor himself is not confident," TKS Elangovan, DMK MP.

2:30 pm IST: "We'll continue with our 'dharm yudh' until Amma's rule is established," O Panneerselvam. 

2:23 pm IST: AIADMK MLAs leave resort where they camped for 9 days. 

1:35 pm IST: "We will not let the party (AIADMK) go into the hands of few of #VKSasikala's family members," said O Panneerselvam.

1:34 pm IST:

1:33 pm IST: O Panneerselvam said he would fight back till the end. 

12:55 pm IST: "We are not divided there are no factions only O Panneerselvam is apart and his question shouldn't arise because he isn't party member," said M. Thambidurai. "Except O Panneerselvam all 134 MLAs are with us. I've learnt swearing in will be around 4-4.30pm," he said. 

12:50 pm IST: This is people's victory, we will carry forward Amma's legacy in the coming days: AIADMK Senior Leader M. Thambidurai.

12:45 pm IST: Tamil Nadu Minister D Jayakumar says swearing in ceremony of Edappadi K. Palaniswami as CM, will be held later this evening. 

12:44 pm IST: AIADMK MP V Maitreyan from O Panneerselvam's faction to meet Election Commission officials in Delhi at 2.45 pm. 

12:37 pm IST: Edappadi K. Palaniswami to be sworn in at 5 pm. 

12:33 pm IST:

12:18 am IST: Palaniswami to prove majority in 15 days by seeking vote of confidence. He claimed support from 123 MLAs. 

12:12 pm IST: Tamil Nadu Governor invites Edapadi Palaniswami to form government. O Panneerselvam's political ambition comes to an end. 

11:40 am IST: Tamil Nadu Minister Jayakumar, KA Sengottaiyan, S P Velumani,T T Dinakaran, K P. Anbazhagan also part of Palaniswami delegation at Raj Bhavan. 

11:33 am IST:

10:59 am IST: Five member team including E Palaniswami and K A Sengottaiyan leaves from Golden Bay resort to meet Governor C Vidyasagar Rao at Raj Bhawan. 

10:48 am IST: Governor invites AIADMK's legislature party leader Edapadi K.Palaniswami: AIADMK

10:34 am IST: Palaniswami to meet Tamil Nadu governor at 11.30 am. 

10:15 am IST: No VIP treatment for Sasikala Natarajan in Bengaluru jail. 

9:40 am IST: Neither O Panneerselvam nor Edapadi Palaniswami has been called to form government. 

8:20 am IST: Tamil Nadu Governor may invite Sasikala loyalist Edapadi Palaniswami this afternoon to form government.