England Cricket Team
England's Broad holds the ball up after taking five wickets during the first test cricket match against New Zealand at Lord's cricket ground in LondonReuters

With the Ashes Test series coming to an end, England and Australia will take on each other again, and this time in a very different genre of the game - Twenty20. The first of the two T20 will be played at The Rose Bowl, Hampshire on Thursday.

The game will begin at 11:00 pm IST on Thursday night and will be telecast like on Star Cricket, ESPN and Sky Sports 2 channels.


England will be high on confidence following 3-0 Ashes series win but T20 is a different format of the game and Australia certainly has an upper hand, as they boasts of some big hitters who have experience. Most of the Australian players played in the Indian Premier League, so they will adapt to the format of the game easier.

Meanwhile, England can't be written off as they are raring to go after winning the Test series. Moreover, they have big hitters who can turn the course of a match with their exploits.

Previous Meetings:

England and Australia share a record of 3-3 and one no result out of the seven T20 matches played so far. They last played against each other in Brisbane and Melbourne in 2011 which ended in a 1-1 result.

Team News:

England: Michael Carberry, 32, has been included in the squad and he has to compete with Alex Hales and Michael Lumb for a place in the team XI. Lesser known names like Boyd Rankin and Danny Briggs have been called in while resting seasoned players - Kevin Pietersen, Graeme Swann and James Anderson. However, Stuart Broad, Joe Root and Steven Finn, who played in the Ashes, have been included in the squad. Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara and Alex Hales also made it to the list.

Australia: George Bailey is going to lead the side, while Test and ODI skipper Michael Clarke is unlikely to feature in the match. However, Shane Watson and David Warner may feature in the playing XI along with Aaron Finch and Adam Voges. James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc and Clint McKay may lead the bowling attack.


England have homeground advantage but Australia appear to be the favourites to win the 1st T20.


England: Stuart Broad (captain), Alex Hales, Michael Lumb, Luke Wright, Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler, Steven Finn, James Tredwell, Jade Dernbach

Australia: George Bailey (captain), David Warner, Shane Watson, Aaron Finch, Adam Voges, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Clint McKay